1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High Lumen with less contrast Ratio or Less Lumen with high contrast ratio ?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Jazzartist, Jun 7, 2003.

1. Jazzartist

Jazzartist

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hallo Folks ,

I am planing to buy PJ for a while and I am new with PJs . I need the communities help on this question . I am planing to buy Pj for my home use in Dimly lit room for watching movies mainly I am not serious about using it with computer . I am coming accros many specifications . I need to Know which one to select More lumens with less contrast Ratio or Less lumens with High contrast Ratio ? Also I want to know if XGA will make much differnce compared with SVGA for Movies ? Also all the Pjs dont have Component video Input , most of them have S video is it going to affect in great way to the picture quality ? . Shall be great full for any suggestions. Regards.

Jazzartist

2. Messiah

Messiah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +339
    Isn't this basically the same question that you asked about a week ago and got a few answers to here - http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=82295

Just some friendly advice :). If you continue to ask the same question albeit in different ways, you will quickly lose the valuable support of forum members.

As to your question regarding XGA vs SVGA then yes XGA will make quite a difference (although this will also likely depend on the qauuality of the inbuilt or offboard scaler. Why? SVGA is 800x600 which when used in 16:9 format is actuually reduced to 800x400 so the scaler will have to downsacle the source image. Whereas XGA is 1024x768 which is 1024x576 in 16:9 format which matched PAL resolution but will require a small amount of upscaling for NTSC material.