1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High level cable

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Jackam, Oct 27, 2004.

  1. Jackam

    Jackam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont have a REL high level cable for my Strata 5, so am just using 3 amp mains cable and a Neutric connector bought from Maplins. Does anyone think there will be much difference? Thanks.
     
  2. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, as long as you have wired the cableing as instructed in REL's manual :lesson: although from what i remember of the cableing supplied by Rel it was not of great quality so it will probably be better anyway.

    John :)
     
  3. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    I recently made up a really nice High level cable using Black Rhodium Horizon Biwire cable and it sounded much better than the stock cable supplied with the subwoofer.
     
  4. Jackam

    Jackam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply's.
     
  5. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    what high leve cables would you reccomend to buy..?? cheers!!

    fairly cheap - upto 45 quid if possible...
     
  6. Dean

    Dean
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +188
    I need a high level cable too as it wasn't supplied with my Quake.. any recommendations?
     
  7. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
  8. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    I'm confused now....got a reply back -
    "Our high level lead has a Speakon plug on it to fit our subwoofer, it will also fit any Rel, or MJ Acoustics subs. Looking at your sub on the Velodyne site I notice that the high level inputs on the CHT-10R are binding posts therefore you do not need a specialised lead just ordinary speaker lead should suffice."

    I assumed that the the connections I'd use would the the double rca connections (I;m not sure if I'm using the correct terminology here tho!) - so, instead of using just the single phono connection (that I'd use from my AV amp to sub), when I use my stereo amp (NAD c350) I would use the the equivalent of a double phono lead as there are the connections on both the sub and the amp...!

    can anyone please clarify..?

    cheers!
     
  9. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    or should I be looking tthe line level..???

    help...!!!!
     
  10. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I don't know what you are trying to do Mr Cat but the Velodyne manual states that you can't use both high level and low level connections simultaneously
     
  11. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    ok ian - this is what I wanna do -

    presently - I use a single phono lead to connect from my sub to my av amp when playing dvds, when I play my cds, then then unplug the phono lead from my av amp and plug it into my stereo amp. as obviously I use my stereo amp for playing cds, and my av amp for playing dvds...

    my old eltax sub only had a single phono connector...
    now, my velodyne has 2 sets of inputs..? and also my nad stereo amp has two connectors...I remember reading somewhere that this would sound better that the single phono I presently use whilst listening to my cd player...

    I don't mind having to unplug / plug in cables whilst changing from cd to dvd - I just want the best sound I can get when playing cds...

    so, what cable(s) and method of connecting my sub and stereo amp would you recommend..??

    cheers!
     
  12. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Unlike REL and some other subwoofers where you can use the high and low level connections sumultaneously the Velodyne doesn't seem to be designed for that purpose as it doesn't have independent gain controls for each type of connection.

    It isn't just a matter of switching connections when you move from AV amp to stereo amp as the settings on the sub will have to be reset every time you change over.

    The CHT stands for Classic Home Theater which shows you which market sector this sub is aimed at. The realistic options are either to sell it and replace it with something that can use both connections simultaneously or else just use the low level connector for DVD and play CD's without the sub.

    Of the two, the second option seems more sensible than the first
     
  13. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    option 2 for me as well, my fronts are more than capable of playing decent bass for cd listening.

    Mr Cat those new KEF's can go pretty damn low can't they? why the need for the sub?
     
  14. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hi Ian, thanks for that - I really don't mind switching over the cables and resetting various settings as my habits are as I'll listen to cds during the week, then watch some dvds over the weekend...so, in essence I'd only make the change say once / twice a week tops!
    I don't really wanna sell the sub either...so, with that, what kind of cable would be best..??

    sorry for being a real pain...!
     
  15. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I've only ever used the XLR cables with REL subs so don't have any direct experience of any other type of high level connection. Looking at the manual it just states "use speaker cable". There is no need to match the speaker cable to the rest of your system as tonal matching doesn't apply with a sub.

    If you have any old cable lying around I would use that to start with just to make sure that you like the sound and hassle, then perhaps upgrade to something else when you know that you are happy with it.
     
  16. Pollywoggle

    Pollywoggle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,442
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +81
    I used to have to readjust the settings on my pb2+ as I switched between home cinema and cds, I put up with it for a while but trying to set it to sound "just right" for each mode used to drive me mad. Every time I got it just perfect for cds I then used to agonise over getting it the same again next time.
    The tiniest movement of the knob made such a difference it was a tweakers nightmare.
    In the end I just had to get 2 subs, and bought recruit's svs just for music.
    'Course, if you have a rel with dual and independant inputs this problem doesn't arise.
    (Rather have my 2 svs tho :D )
     
  17. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    Hurrah for REL, they're not all bad after all. At least they think long and hard about their designs before they make them.
     
  18. Dean

    Dean
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +188
    yeah it is a pain too keep adjusting the sub settings, but now i have it jst right for DVDs! The thing is i need a high level cable to listen to my CD player which is connected to my stereo amp, i can listen to CDs with the sub through my DVD player through low level but obviously a high level cable would be better for direct stereo listening. Are there actually any differences in sound quality with these cables or shall i jst find the cheapest one.. cheerz :)
     
  19. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's why alot of people do like the Rels for Music as they are quite flexible in setting up ;)

    John
     

Share This Page

Loading...