Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

High Level cable compatibility

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by darkeeboy, Mar 20, 2005.

  1. darkeeboy

    darkeeboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    Can anyone confirm that the high level speakon cable for the rel will fit the mj acoustics sub? I cannot find any cheap supplies of this neutrik cable apart from rel ones.

    TIA
    Paul
     
  2. engaged

    engaged
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    AFAIK it'll be fine - I nearly bought a REL one too, as I've got an MJ Acoustics sub too, but was offered an MJ Acoustics cable at a reduced price.

    I never realised that adding the high level connection would make such a difference!
     
  3. darkeeboy

    darkeeboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    can i ask where you got yours from? Ive been quoted £30 for it and think its a bit steep - you say its worth the benefit - did you add it to your main fronts or centre speaker?
    Cheers
     
  4. engaged

    engaged
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    Got it from the local Sevenoaks, and managed to get a few quid knocked off as a favour. It's wired to the front speakers and it's made a noticeable improvement to performance with music.
     
  5. darkeeboy

    darkeeboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    cheers for the info - one more q if I may - did you change your speakers to "large" or keep as "small" on the av amp?
     
  6. engaged

    engaged
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    Good question, actually! Have a feeling that I have them set as large, so that the high level connection gets a full range signal. Will check tomorrow, can't at the moment.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice