High-end Receiver/Amp for 80% music - Denon x2500h currently

duffner

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! First poster here, so thanks for anyone willing to help a noob here.

I have a def tech 600 series 5.1 setup that I use for movies and I recently purchased a pair of B&W 702s2 for music. I got the s2 for 3k for the pair so it was hard to argue for the price. Two open boxes at Best Buy :). Big upgrade over the energy CF-50s these replaced !! I run the amp on front height configuration to have 7.1 during movies.

This starts my problem, when watching movies the b&w sounds amazing like I did when testing, but for some reason music just feels so flat. The best sound comes from Pure Auto with no reference offset, but everyone says it should be 10db. My question, is my receiver the limitation, configuration or any other ideas? Most of listening is around 23db on the receiver sometimes a little louder to 20db.

I used the audessy app to configure my room correction. I’m not sure if sharing that will help you guys.

Last edited:
Hi, it is a common finding that Denon AVR's are not great at 2 channel music, it is the pre-amp section of the Denon AVR that is generally the problem.

You could buy a new AVR that is great at both movies and music, such as an Arcam.

Or, you could add a switch which will enable you to share your front main speakers between your current AVR for movies, and a separate stereo integrated amp for music. Then you can buy any stereo integrated amp that you like.

This is the switch that is highly regarded for this use:

I would say to go for the best that you can afford, as you go up the models you get more power, but much of the other features stay the same.

In the UK there is currently a deal going on the older FMJ model AVR390, which means it is very good value. Are there such deals available in the US?

I listened to the BW at Best Buy, US store and I’m guessing they used a much different power and amplification source than mine :). Lol.