High definition output on Dell 30" lcd monitor

Discussion in 'Computer Peripherals & Consumables' started by paulcollins14, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. paulcollins14

    paulcollins14
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI,

    Hope this is the best place for this post.

    I have become very frustrated with my 30" Dell monitor. although it is great for PC applications and gaming at 2560 x 1600 with 2 sli 8800 GTX's I am struggling to get it to output high def content.

    I have an Xbox 360 HD add on connected to a pc and this is fine a picture will appear but not in HD. I am using Cyberlinks HD software which has an inbuilt hd check for all devices, graphics cards, monitor cable etc, I get a tick for everything except DVI cable - it does go on to offer an explaination and I quote "Dual link DVI adaptors are not ND compliant" I thought dvi was hd compliant!

    As dvi is the only connection this monitor has, not sure how to get around it.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks


    Paul
     
  2. Icm76

    Icm76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +72
    Your 8800GTXs only support HDCP up to single link resolutions i.e. 1920x1200 max

    The Dell monitor can only natively support 2560x1600 or 1280x800 4:1 mapped for full screen. Some folk reckon it it will do 1:1 mapping e.g. you can use 1680x1050 at 1:1 in a screen area that ends up approx 22" diameter.

    You want full screen HDCP content then set yout PC res to 1280x800 & try that.

    Also try 1920x1200 or 1680x1050 & set 1:1 pixel mapping on the monitor so there is a thick border around everything (there are conflicting reports about whether this works, but in theory it should)


    If you try & scale anything to 2560x1600 via the PC then it's going through the 8800gtx & it won't work as the 8800 isn't HDCP compliant over dual link
     
  3. sweetmate

    sweetmate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +51
    I don't know the legalities of AACS removal software, and this seems like a case of a genuine consumer just trying to enjoy HD as he should be allowed to (and after paying for dual 8800s, and a 3007WFPHC, he has the right!!) so try this http://www.slysoft.com/en/anydvdhd.html. If this is not allowed, mods please delete and many apologies in advance.
     

Share This Page

Loading...