1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

high def - xbox help im a newbie

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by mike oxsmellin, Jun 1, 2005.

  1. mike oxsmellin

    mike oxsmellin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

    i just got a Lg DI30LZ3O (30'' LCD), and the official xbox high def kit. To use with my cystal x3 mod box. I have enabled NTSC but i get a fuzzy horizontal line that moves very slowly up and down on the screen when playing games.
    There seems to be no difference when playing a back-up of my H-D or from disk

    could this be a cable problem?, or is it a settings prob?

    Also although the pic quality is good and better than s-video moster cable its no where near as good when i run PC games through it.

    any suggestions would be awesome!!!!
     
  2. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,489
    Is the LCD set to component? it might still be set to Composite.

    also turn the setting in the xbox dashboard to display 480P and 720P
     
  3. mike oxsmellin

    mike oxsmellin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    in dash i have enable 480, 720 and wide screen. However when i turn my LCD on it says component on the right hand corner then displays 480i.???????
     
  4. -Hitman-

    -Hitman-
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sector7
    Ratings:
    +842
    looks like to me like your LCD is struggling with the NTSC signal!

    Try enabling pal60 in the xbox settings and see if that will work, if it doesn't then your LCD may not support the NTSC signal!

    Remember not all games are higher than 480P, only some are 720P.
     
  5. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    if your Lg is similar to one of these 32LZ50 then i don't think the Component socket accept a progressive signal, for some unknown reason they only accept a interlace signal. If you look on your set where the component sockets are it probably says 480i just above them. If this is the case then your :censored: out of luck
     
  6. domtheone

    domtheone
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    13,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +2,357
    The model that you linked PoonTang does indeed have indicated on the side 480/576.(looked at the tv on Monday) .....unfortunately only an "i" next to the numbers :thumbsdow
     
  7. mike oxsmellin

    mike oxsmellin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok cheers for the suggestions. I just called the dealer says that it does have NTSC and at least 1080i and is willing to send a tech round to sort it out so its looks like it will get sorted 1 way or another.

    Though i thinkthe prob could be the cable or box rather than the tv
     
  8. diggler46

    diggler46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +29
    did you get this sorted?
     

Share This Page

Loading...