High Def Plasma - Newbie needs advice!

M

mar111111

Hi,

I want to buy a plasma with high definition but I'm being told this is waste of time (by the chap in the shop) as even the so called high-definition compatiable plasmas will need to be upgraded when high-def is finally out.

This, as he tells me, is due to the fact the plasma screen CAN show the high def picture but the TV TUNER that comes with it CANNOT.

So my question is
1) Is this the case or am I being sold a lie ?
2) Do most decent plasmas have the TV tuner integrated ?

Thanks for your help, I'm new at all this and I'm hoping you guys can help.

:lease:

the only source of HD material for some time to come is going to be
1. via a Sky HD box around the end of the year
2. HD-DVD and Blue Ray DVD boxes, probably next year
3. Or a PC now

All these are external devices, so the internal tuner in the plasma is a bit irrelevant to HD. But useful for normal terrestial broadcasts and DTT.

The main challenge at present is that few Plasma panels are capable of proper HD resolution of 1280x720 or above, or have the HDMI or DVI inputs that support HDCP (content protection) that is going to be required by Sky and the DVD players.

Look for the new "HD Ready" logo. This should ensure that the screen will work with whatever Sky comes up with and the next-gen DVD formats without any upgrades.

Don't be fobbed off by a salesman saying that you don't need a HD Ready set if you think that there is any likelihood that you'll want to watch a HD source during the life of the set.

Most plasmas sold on the high street will have a normal analogue TV tuner built in that will become redundant anyway when the analogue signal is turned off in 2012. Some will also have an extra built in tuner for Digital Terrestrial (DTT) services like Freeview.