1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High Def media players - The options

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by dodgyd, Sep 19, 2005.

  1. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    Hi all,

    I'll admit it, I'm pretty confused about the options for displaying HD content that is located on my PC for viewing on my HD ready TV. It's not necessarily the technology I'm confused about, it's the choice of hardware.

    The way I see it, these are the options:


    I suppose I could amend this post with the latest details and prices as they become available. Has anyone used the Roku one above? I can't find any details on it. Also, I have a chipped XBOX, is that capable of displaying HD movies via (for example) XBMC?

    Thanks,
    Dave.
     
  2. bbdivo

    bbdivo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
  3. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    Interesting, this could be its killer feature:
    Dave.
     
  4. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    On second thoughts, it doesn't say if it supports .ts files or not.

    Dave.
     
  5. Sparky101

    Sparky101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Not really a killer feature, I know the ShowCenter 200 can do that too (as I have one), maybe some of the others can too as a lot of them use the same decoding chip.
     
  6. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    So I'm glad I started this thread :thumbsup: So if I was an iMP triallist (for the BBC trial), I could watch the downloaded shows via the ShowCenter?

    Dave.
     
  7. zag2me

    zag2me
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    I use an HTPC with a passive Nvidia 6600gt card in it and a celeron 2.4 processor.

    Plays all hdtv great, and is virtually silent. Frontend is meedio which can play .ts files with its internal player.

    http://www.gaz1.com/htpc
     
  8. jriihi

    jriihi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was thinking about this and between snazio 1350 and roku hd1500 i choose roku (mostly due to 3rd party software). Should get it tomorrow so dont know how good it is yet :)
     
  9. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    Will be good to hear your opinions when you get it. I'm interesting in buying partly because it's available to buy straight away! Can you expand on the 3rd party software bit of your post?

    Dave.
     
  10. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +252
  11. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    Can anyone else expand on this statement?
    Thanks,
    Dave.
     
  12. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +252
    3rd party software that works with the ShowCenter 200 includes SwissCenter
     
  13. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    So you mean the roku doesn't need this software?

    Dave.
     
  14. jriihi

    jriihi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did not yet get my roku so cant comment on how good it works yet. Should get tomorrow hopefully or thursday atleast.

    Yeah it doesnt. It can be setup with compact flash card in roku that contains all software needed. Then you just use standard nfs or smb mounts over network.

    Here is some native software for roku (runs on roku from flashcard or nfs/smb mounted network drive):

    Mplay:
    http://permanence.com/mplay/#screenshots

    Sonica:
    http://www.bobsplace.com/sonica/screen_shots.html

    Slimroku (this one requires free server side software slimserver from (http://www.slimdevices.com/su_downloads.html)
    http://www.permanence.com/SlimRoku/index.html#screenshots so it might not be usefull for some ppl.

    Viper (can be setup to launch Mplay for playback):
    http://sourceforge.net/project/screenshots.php?group_id=143876

    Some software list (not complete):
    http://frequal.com/roku/AllPhotoBridgeApps.html

    roku 3rd party software discussion forum:
    http://rokulabs.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=11
     
  15. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +252
    Can the Roku paly WMV-HD and MPEG4 media? Their spec sheet's a bit vague, but only seems to mention MPEG1 and MPEG2. And what about PAL support?
     
  16. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    I'm starting to get a feel for how the Roku works now, looks interesting, I always prefer products that can be tweaked and the Roku certainly falls into that category! What I really want is a High Definition media player that has the following attributes:

    • Ethernet
    • DVI or HDMI output
    • Can play .ts and DRM'd media (for the BBC iMP trial)
    • Has built in DVD that can 'upscale'

    I'm basically trying to consolidate the amount of equipment I have, I don't fancy having an HD media player and a DVD player when I get both in the same product.
    There's a large list here, I didn't realise just how many HD players are becoming available! http://www.windowsmarketplace.com/results.aspx?bCatId=522

    Dave.
     
  17. jsebright

    jsebright
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mind out - some of these are not hi-def players, just networked media players. I think the DLink player(s) referred to above are not hi-def. Manufacturers like to use terms which confuse - "scales to high definition" for example, it would be easier if they wrote "will not play back high definition sources".
     
  18. soiaf

    soiaf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    No it doesn't natively support WMVHD or MPEG4 (though you may be able to run something like VLC on a server and stream to it).

    Latest beta firmware has PAL support, but still needs some tweaking.
     
  19. jriihi

    jriihi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally got roku and setup it. Seems to work ok so far. I installed slimroku,sonica,mplay software and flac,alac,ogg and mod tracker (mod/s3m/it/xm etc) codecs. Music worked just fine with sonica and also slimroku did have nice ui. Mplay with .ts files (1080i) worked without problems for me with seamless ts fileset playback as default but didnt do long time testing.

    Setup was not very easy but not hard.. All information was in roku forums atleast so got it to work.
     
  20. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    jriihi,

    Does the Roku play multiple .ts files in succession without the need to merge them into one file?

    Thanks,
    Dave.
     
  21. jriihi

    jriihi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes Mplay (native 3rd party app) does that as long as files are standardly named. Example: file.0001.ts - file.0145.ts. It plays then seamlessly like they where 1 big file.
     
  22. emporer

    emporer
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,640
    I have a Buffalo Linktheater which I think is perfect for hi-def stuff, it's conected to my pv500 via components and although it struggles a bit when playing very high bitrate stuff over the wireless connection it plays perfect off the drive or wired ethernet. Plays everything ive thrown at it, .ts files,wmv-hd, divx hd etc, and all the standard stuff aswell. Superb player and well worth the 170 quid. I must say that watching some IMAX stuff in hd is stunning.
     
  23. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    emporer,

    Can it play .ts files in succession without having to merge into one file (like the roku can - see above post).

    Dave.
     
  24. emporer

    emporer
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,640
    I think it will but I reckon it will have a pause between files, however I just use hdtv2mpeg and join them and just bung them over 2/3 dvdr's or in the case of Gladiator BEV version 5 discs!!!. It don't take long to merge them, only about 6 mins on my pc.
     
  25. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    I've ordered a Roku HD1500, should be here tomorrow. What attracted me was its ability to seamlessly play .ts, it's slim form factor, and the pass through ability for component cable will be useful, too :) The deciding factor was its 'hackibility' :thumbsup:

    Dave.
     
  26. ArNx

    ArNx
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Were did you get it for £170 :lease:
     
  27. HCman

    HCman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +9
    I got mine form 'Transparent Communications' £182.05 including VAT & Delivery. Great advice from emporer in another thread, and well worth the money ... if you have an HD display and can source good HD material, you will not be disappointed. :smashin:
     
  28. emporer

    emporer
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,640
    From wifigear.co.uk, they're based in Bournemouth. Great guys and VERY helpfull. I couldn't recommend them enough. I think the price at the time was about 189 but as I went in person I haggled with cash and got it for 170. Great bit of kit.
     
  29. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    Well, I've spent the best part of a day trying to get the Roku working to my satisfaction. At first I had problems with lip sync, stuttering playback and loss of audio for extended periods when watching HD over my wired network. I tried so many things to correct it, mplay didn't seem to help and neither did 'cinema six'. In the end, I upgraded the firmware to beta 2.0.28 and that has made every single problem just go away. I'm happy now, I can't believe how great HD content looks on my 435xde :)

    Dave.
     

Share This Page

Loading...