1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hiding wires from PLasma screen?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by robyoung, Nov 19, 2003.

  1. robyoung

    robyoung
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +65
    Hi guys,

    looking for any tips on hiding wires from my wall mounted plasma screen, they look awful just hanging. Its mounted on a brick wall, so any siggestions/pics? what have you done or seen done?

    thanks rob
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    Have a look at the 'Get your plasma out for lads thread' for some inspiration: http://www.avforums.com/frame.html?http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=78824

    Prior to burying the cables for mine in the wall, I got 2 lengths of plastic pipe, sprayed to match the frame of the plasma, fed the cables through the pipes and attached them to the wall using blutak - you can see how it looked on page 7 of this thread: http://www.avforums.com/frame.html?http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=91523

    HTH

    John
     
  3. robyoung

    robyoung
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +65
    Thanks, yours looks really neat! might try that as a quick cheap fix, although not sure whether to paint it wall colour or the aluminium colour of the telly.

    Any tips/instructions on doing it through the wall? can it be done DIY? They only need to go straight down.

    Many thanks
    Rob
     
  4. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    The wife wanted to paint the trunking the same colour as the walls but I figures by painting it silver, it gave the impression that the TV was on a stand.

    I put the cables in the wall myself - got some rectangular trunking from B&Q and cut a channel in the plasterboard with a stanley knife - attached the trunking to the breeze blocks behind using No More Nails.

    The front of the trunking was slightly behind the front of the plasterboard so a thin coat of polyfiller a bit of sanding and some paint and the wall looks good as new.

    I'll try to get some pics and post them later.

    John
     
  5. robyoung

    robyoung
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +65
    Thanks John,

    Pics would be cool. Might attempt to do the wall if its possible with the brick. I'll have a look in B&Q too for the trunking (is it specifically for wires?)

    thanks rob
     
  6. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    trunking is in the electricity section of a B&Q. If you have plaster walls, then you can cut a channel down the wall with an angle grinder, insert the trunking, and plaster over the trunking. I have gyproc walls so it was a little easier for me but someone I know bought himself an angle grinder to hide all his multiroom speaker wires.
     
  7. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    how does a wall chaser work?
     
  9. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its rather like a router but for walls, you stick a drill in that caddy insert the supplied bit adjust the depth and wheel your drill up the wall cutting a slot as it go's :)
     
  10. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want one! but I'll have to move house into one with plaster walls first!
     
  11. Dominic

    Dominic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    anyone used an angle grinder to channel walls out ? jesus what a load of dust,
    i installed my kitchen this summer and put loads of cables in, sky/cat5/coax/LV lighing/ uplighters. i started using an angle grinder, but the amount of dust was toooo much,

    so i got my SDS drill with a chisel on the end and hammered myself some nice channels. deep enough for trunking.
     
  12. happychappy

    happychappy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hire a proper wall chaser and INDUSTRIAL VACUUM from a tool hire shop there will be next to no dust at all ;)
     
  13. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    wher can you buy those rubber cable conselers for the floor that you find in offices.
     
  14. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    rob,

    I've just posted pics of my setup in the Get you Plasmas out.... thread.

    John
     
  15. DarT

    DarT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know where i can get my hands on a couple of component BNC type wall sockets.

    Want to run the cable through the wall and terminate them at both ends within normal wall sockets that i can then plug the component cables into, to make it a neater job and easier to move at a later date.
     
  16. happychappy

    happychappy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +4
    Try screwfix a 9m roll is £66.45
     
  17. happychappy

    happychappy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +4
    try:-
    www.keene.co.uk
    look under the "home installation and diy leads" section they do all manor of wall plates and can make up others to order.
     

Share This Page

Loading...