1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hiding speaker wires (eg wall sockets) - what do you need exactly

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by empress, Mar 1, 2005.

1. empress

empress

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im moving into a new house that is currently being built. I thought this would be a great opportunity to be able to get all the wires put in the wall without having make a mess of the walls and redecorate.

I know you can get wall sockets that you can plug your speakers in but I dont exactly know what I need and how it works. I am new to all this and finding it hard to find the right information I need to get be started on learning how it all works.

Could someone tell me what I need - will I need one socket that all the wires plug into and then different seperate sockets for each speaker. Also what cabling do I need as well and how do they all connect up?

i haven't bought the amp/speakers etc yet so I am open to suggestions on the different types of connection I can choose to have.

2. guido

guido

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    I had all my lounge speaker cables for the two rears stuck in the wall before plastering out.

Only did the rears.. you can use ready made wallplates: http://www.qed.co.uk/acc/wallmount.html or make up your own by buying a socket back box and blanking plate and getting some 4mm binding post sockets from Maplins (this is what I did). So have one plate behind amp with two pairs of sockets, then one plate behind each rear with single pair.

Have to decide whether every join/plug/socket in line will affect quality or not. else have single lead running into wall plate without using plugs/sockets.

Sure someone else will be along with more ideas.

3. MPK

MPK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8