1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hiding obtrusive cables

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Bazel, Jun 13, 2003.

  1. Bazel

    Bazel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

    Any suggestions welcome ref hiding obtrusive cables from my Pioneer 50hde. I have it wallmounted and was going to channel the wall out and bury the Media box & power cable but have hit a big snag (the wife:blush: ).

    So now I am thinking of using a bit of trunking running from the bottom centre of the screen to just below my unit height and then emulsioning it same colour as walls. If anyone has done similar I would appreciate any info on trunking used or any other ideas on how to deal with this matter.

    By the way "getting rid of wife" not really an option.!!!:D :D
     
  2. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    check out the "Get your plasmas out for the lads 2" thread in this section, I'm sure on of the photos has an example of trunking.

    Mike
     
  3. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +8
    If the wall is plaster and block/brick an only painted, then channelling is not too hard an only messy for a day while you channel and another day when you sand it down. It is not hard to get a good match.

    Trunking is easy aswell but it is good to keep the power and signal cables apart a bit. If you use plastic trunking it will need a plastic primer before you emulsion it (and a light sanding/clean).

    Try www.tlc-direct.co.uk for trunking etc

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  4. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In fact its themmings post at the bottom of page 3 that used truncking painted same as the wall
     
  5. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    I have 2 x 40mm "waste pipes" (one for signals and one for power) running down the wall from my plasma to behind my rack. The rack is round (the corner posts) and the plasma and rack are both silver, so I sprayed the pipe silver to match. Looks great if you ask me. I guess it kind of makes it look like the plasma is on a stand rather than hanging on the wall. I can post a pic if you want.

    Rob.
     
  6. Bazel

    Bazel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rob, a picture would be great, starting to think trunking is definitely the way to go.
     
  7. mark raeburn

    mark raeburn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Belive me it's noe effort to chisle out the wall and repaint over it, it will look so much better than if there is any evidence (trunking or otherwise) of how cables are coming from the plasma. Take a look at the "get your plasma out" threads and decide for yourself. Belive me it will not be as time consuming or messy as you think!
     
  8. briandzo

    briandzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newbury , Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    i used sticky back trunking (b&Q)

    note this stuff comes in 3 sizes so dont just buy what they
    have in stock. You dont necessaryly want the largest size if
    the smallest will do.

    i also painted it the same colour as wall.
    paint straight on. looks ok to me.
    dont forget the corner clips to finish off.

    take a look....
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    Try this...

    (I know I should take the handles off!)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    and this...

    Rob.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. zorg2000k

    zorg2000k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Looks great Rob, I might use this method with my screen.

    Cheers

    Zorg
     
  12. Bazel

    Bazel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Rob, looks really impressive I must say, (wife likes it to).
    Decision time this weekend
     
  13. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    Also very cheap and easy to do. I think the pipe (I had to buy a 2m length), clips and spray paint cost about £6 all in. No-one has guess that it was 40mm waste pipe!

    I did consider channeling wall out, but glad I didn't as I'm now about to change the VGA cable for the 2nd time. I've also changed the component cable once. With this method it was easy to do.

    Rob.
     
  14. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    Rob,
    That really does look great mate!! :smashin: :smashin:

    Are the pipes stuck to the wall, or are they just hanging free?
     
  15. zorg2000k

    zorg2000k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Well,

    Taken Robs idea here (hope you dont mind Rob), went to B & Q and bought two sliver pipes £3.99 each.

    Plasma on wall and pipes tucked under back plate of wall bracket.

    What do you think guys & girls ?

    Zorg
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    AVGeeza - pipes are attached wall using sprayed waste pipe clips.

    Zorg - looks great. What's your display?

    Rob
     
  17. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    zorg your screen dosent look level in that pic

    jason :D
     
  18. zorg2000k

    zorg2000k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi Jason

    Nice and level I promise, think its the dodgy pic I took.

    Zorg
     
  19. zorg2000k

    zorg2000k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi Rob,

    Hitachi PMA400E is my screen.

    Liked your Idea as the missus wasn't into me scraping out holes in the wall now in the good books so to speak :smoke:

    l8tr

    Zorg
     
  20. zorg2000k

    zorg2000k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
     

    Attached Files:

  21. zorg2000k

    zorg2000k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
     

    Attached Files:

  22. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    zorg what is the picture quality like with your plasma??
    are you happy with it??
    i am thinking of taking the plunge but not sure!!!
    is the screen quiet i read that some people thought it was noisey!!

    jason
     
  23. zorg2000k

    zorg2000k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    When I had it on my glass av stand, i could hear the fan but you become used to it a few mins.

    Since I put it on the wall not heard it, strange.

    L8tr

    Zorg
     
  24. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +141
    Hi folks,

    I fianlly mounted my plasma on the wall over last week end.

    For the cables, I used 40 mm waste pipe.

    I still need to piant or wall papaer over the pipe but here it is as it stands currently.

    Adrian
     

    Attached Files:

  25. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +141
    And hopefully a better picture
     

    Attached Files:

  26. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    Doesn't that plant get in the way? Snip, snip....
     
  27. zorg2000k

    zorg2000k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Looks good , is that one pipe for all your cables

    Zorg
     
  28. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    We've got the same thing going on in our demo room - cheap plastic trunking and a silver radiator pipe cover!!! (both B&Q)Looks the bees-knees :)
     
  29. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +141
    Hi,

    Thank you all for your kind words about my DIY ability! :clap:

    Currently I have the one pipe for the video leads (vga/dvi/svideo/composite) and the main lead is outside the pipe running along the pipe trapped by the two 40mm pipe clips that hold the pipe in place. Currently the difference in picture quality is not different if the mains lead is outside the pipe, or running along an entirely seperate route, hopefully the plastic pipe has sufficicnt shielding.

    I do like the idea of using a 'chrome' pipe, looks more stylish but dreading cutting the lenght of the pipe to push the leads into the pipe!

    The plant is not a real issue from the main viewing positions, but yes Norman and Norman Junior do require a prune :suicide:

    I shall endavour to take a 'head on ' photo rather than a side view!

    After one request, the stand is home made using 12 mm MDF boards, and the vertical struts are based on M16 threaded rods with 40mm waste pipe to hide the thread!

    Might not be the most anti-vibration stnad out but it was cheap and quick to produce. All I want to do now is to replace teh MDF boards with marble; that will reduce vibrations!

    Adrian
     
  30. naybs1

    naybs1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rob

    I have the same problem for the cableing to the speakers fronts and surrounds. I have been trying to find a trunking that is suitable but as yet have failed. I like the idea above of the sticky back trunking but B&Q do not list this on the web site. Can any one help.

    It is a wood floored room so hiding things under the carpet is not an option and the speakers are all bi wired so it just gets worst.

    an help would be welcomed thanks
    steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...