Hiding away AV equipment

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by celtic1967, Aug 14, 2013.

  1. celtic1967

    celtic1967
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Luton
    Ratings:
    +38
    I have Sky HD box, Wii, Xbox 360 and a Samsung 2.1 home cinema in my family room and its a mess of wires feeding directly to my Panasonic plasma tv.

    I would like to put all the AV equipment discretely away from the tv (maybe in a corner) a distance from the tv for neatness.

    Any ideas on what would be the best way to do this bearing in mind that the Wii connection is via scart adaptor and need to connect wii sensor bar and Kinect sensor to the consoles and position them around the screen ?

    Thanks
     
  2. tvmcp

    tvmcp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,236
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +220
    Not sure if it helps, but you can get wireless wii sensor bars.

    I've had 2 in the past, one was very good, the other really poor, using a wired one now, so can't actually recommend one of the top of my head.
     
  3. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Do they all have seperate cables to the TV or do they all connect to the Home Cinema and then onto the tv ?
     
  4. celtic1967

    celtic1967
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Luton
    Ratings:
    +38
    Currently the sky box and x box are connected to the two hdmi inputs on the Samsung e5200 and the hdmi out goes to the tv.

    The added complication now is the Wii which is scart only.
     
  5. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    You could convert Scart to HDMI but as the samsung only has 2 HDMI inputs this would really help.

    You probably need to google Kinnect and Wii Sensor bar extenders
     
  6. celtic1967

    celtic1967
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Luton
    Ratings:
    +38
    I think that my set up doesn't lend itself to a "clean" install:rolleyes:
     
  7. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    You could add a HDMI Switch and Scart to HDMi Convertor but seems over the top for teh sake of one cable
     
  8. celtic1967

    celtic1967
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Luton
    Ratings:
    +38

    Absolutely
     
  9. celtic1967

    celtic1967
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Luton
    Ratings:
    +38
    There is a Wii2hdmi gadget for around £15, think I may give that a go for starters
     
  10. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Not seen those before, interesting.

    Still leaves you with the problem of extending Sensors though.
     
  11. celtic1967

    celtic1967
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Luton
    Ratings:
    +38

    Yep, or sell the consoles on ebay while the kids are at school !!!!:D
     
  12. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,470
  13. celtic1967

    celtic1967
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Luton
    Ratings:
    +38
  14. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,470
    Yes - you will also need the Wii 'Component' cable!

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice