Hidden Test Card W on Freeview

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by steveo67, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. steveo67

    steveo67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +41
    Doesn't work on all boxes/IDTVs but worth a shot. Might be useful for setting up your TVs levels.

    1. Select BBCi channel 105
    2. When BBCi appears press Yellow within 30 secs
    3. Select another channel
    4. Select BBCi channel 105
    5. When BBCi appears press Green within 30 secs

    A screen with the word 'Secret' will appear in the top right hand corner

    6. Wait until the status page appears
    7. Enter 3, 3, 5, 8, 2, Red, Green, Yellow, Blue
    8. Wait another 30 seconds
    9. Test card W will appear
     
  2. gulliver dark

    gulliver dark
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +10
    well I never :smashin:
     
  3. Lee_JTD

    Lee_JTD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +13
    I get as far as the status page, but then with step 7 the screen goes black and thats it :(
    In the status page i have the option to select region ei se,sw ect then 'test' but it brings up a warning and im too chicken to select it. lol. on an echostar box
     
  4. Geofbob

    Geofbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +304
    So that's where the little girl, her doll and the noughts & crosses has been all these years - locked away more securely than the Crown Jewels! And that amazingly long string of letters & numbers on the status screen - what's that all about? (Unfortunately, I didn't see the word "Secret" - I was following Steveo67's instructions too closely!)
     
  5. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
  6. steveo67

    steveo67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +41
    This tipped me off late last year and luckily Brother in Law works for the beeb. Took him 2 months to come up with any info - seems very few inside beeb know about it.
     
  7. timearp

    timearp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +39
    Got to the region select screen and put in the wrong code, had to hard reboot! Will try it again on my Toppy when I'm not recording. Interesting to see the Beeb are hiding stuff, what else is out there!?
     
  8. fothsn

    fothsn
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Is anything actually broadcasted on this channel?
     
  9. Buzza

    Buzza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +29
    Works on Pace Twin.

    Came over all nostalgic!
     
  10. uno

    uno
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    657
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +90
    Well this works on my Panasonic PX70 fine and also on my Thomson box in bedroom which in the tuning menu show the box being tuned to BBC engineering channel
     
  11. airjaff

    airjaff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Ive only got sky digital. how do i access it from there?
     
  12. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
    You can't.
    As the post says it's for FREEVIEW
     
  13. atmoscinema

    atmoscinema
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +57
    Nice one!
     
  14. radioredcat

    radioredcat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    st helens
    Ratings:
    +71
    Excellent works on two versions of asda durabrand boxes.


    andy
     
  15. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Works with my cheapo Goodmans GDB3. :clap:
     
  16. mateybloke

    mateybloke
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tamworth
    Ratings:
    +5
    Works on my Pioneer 5090 TV:clap:
     
  17. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,691
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,263
    ....and on my Digifusion FVRT200
     
  18. scribbler101

    scribbler101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    And it works on my Bush DFTA3.

    But surely if we are controlling an incoming signal it will work on ALL boxes?

    Where it seems not to work (are there any examples?) it may be because it is very picky. I find that in haste to yellow/greem within 30 secs one must still wait for the actual broadcast text to appear, and not respond to internal responses to merely selecting "105". But I think wait only for the text on the left, not for the colour images on the right.

    I only sometimes get "secret" - often got straight to "status page".

    Sometimes "33582rgyb" simply leads to channel 82.

    And the final wait is surely longet than 30 secs? And you must be patient during black screen.

    Anyway; having got to the little girl, what can I do with her (bearing in mind that I am not Gary Glitter)? Is there supposed to be a coloured line across the top above the grey/white screen? Or do I need to recentre - if I can find out how?

    I seem to have a bit more right than left - but again - what to do and do I care?

    And the greys seem pale - but digital is always less intensely coloured than analogue? Mine is!

    And it says "Wideband" But seems to be 16:9.
     
  19. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Holy crap gonna try this as soon as I get in!
     
  20. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Says "Widescreen" on mine! ;)
     
  21. BUSHWACKER

    BUSHWACKER
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    works on my hitachi 42''plasmas built in freeview
     
  22. Mooly

    Mooly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    OK on Panasonic DMRES20D. Can't record it though.
     
  23. Geofbob

    Geofbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +304
    I tried this on my Goodmans PVR when the posting first appeared in January, and it worked OK. I've just tried it on the Polaroid LCD Freeview TV we've acquired since then, and it works on that too. I imagine that some younger Forum members are seeing this little girl for the first time, but those of us who are older remember her - in B & W of course - from as long ago as the 40s or 50s, and she may even date from the earliest, pre-WW2 days of TV.

    What would be even more welcome though would be a magic formula for retrieving the potters wheel that used to be broadcast in the old days, on the many, many occasions when TV transmission broke down! (Thinking about it now, I realise that those breakdowns must have been in the studio, or between the studio & transmitter - otherwise how could we see the potters wheel - but they were certainly frequent.)
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  24. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  25. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    It was Sylvia Peters on the test card when we first started testing colour from Alexandra Palace in 1955.

    I hope Carol Hershee isn't a Forum member, as she wasn't even born then. :eek:
     
  26. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
    More info to clarify the above

    From: http://www.screenonline.org.uk/tv/technology/technology8.html
    "It was not until 1955 that the BBC began to experiment with colour television and test transmissions began, using a version of America's now-standard NTSC system, modified for 405-line, 50Hz operation. Tests were broadcast from the Alexandra Palace transmitter in North London, the original home of the BBC Television Service, after hours from 10 October 1955, and then, late the following year, from the new Crystal Palace BBC transmitter before it came into service. Nobody other than the few engineers and manufacturers who were involved in the tests would have seen these transmissions in colour; the public would have seen them, and their rather low-key test card, in black and white. There were also doubts about introducing a colour 405-line VHF service when much of the rest of Europe was already considering a higher definition UHF standard."

    "..... a special colour version of this was produced for the tests in 1957, featuring coloured panels on the 'wings' and a picture at the centre of BBC announcer Sylvia Peters. In the same year, the BBC expanded its programme of colour tests, still using NTSC, to UHF"
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  27. Mooly

    Mooly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Trust me to ask a technical question :) Well it is a test card !!
    I have an old ( very old, 22 year old even ) Philips 16 inch FST, as good now as the day I got it. I have set it up to perfection on Test card F and I even have recordings of test card F and know it's still correct.
    Test card W however displays as offset to the right by about 3/4 of a square when I play a DVD of it.
    Strangely so too does my Sony KD32DX200 although in all other respects the geometry is as near perfect as you could ever get on a CRT.
    Any one else noticed this ?
     
  28. nvingo

    nvingo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +698
    What is your testcard F recorded on ?
    If thats videotape, the signal entering the TVs will be composite, whereas from the DVD player (or STB) it may well be RGB.
    An offset between composite and RGB is typical, try it with the STB or DVD scart output menu.
     
  29. Mooly

    Mooly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Now then :), the old Philips only has an RF input. No scart ! That's how old it is. I even have the original batteries, four AAA's for the original remote with expiry date Sept 1986 on them and they still work it perfectly. Anyway --
    The Sony displays the VHS recording of test card F ( via scart -- composite not RGB ) correctly. Test card W from freeview is shifted slightly, by the exact same amount as on the Philips curiously. The recording of test card W is on DVD played on a Panasonic DMRES20 into the Philips and a Sony HDR/DVD into the Sony.
    The Sony may or may not be set up correctly, I have never touched it, but the Philips is and all incoming is via RF. Just wondered :rolleyes:
     
  30. nvingo

    nvingo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +698
    Ah sorry, my assumption that the Philips had AV (scart) input was based partly on Philip's enthusiasm for the connection, and that the set was FST (flat square tube?). Since these facts weren't disclosed (in full) in your post...
    OK what else do "test card W" have in common? They are both sourced from a digital format, that means a digital frame store and a digital-to-analogue converter. The only thing I can suggest here is to record some "test card F" onto DVD and see if that suffers the same fate; although how did you get "test card W" onto DVD - the shift may have been evident on the source that was recorded from.
     

Share This Page

Loading...