1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi, need some help

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Khearts, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. Khearts

    Khearts
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    Ive just bought myself a Toshiba 36ZT29B.
    Here is a good site with the specifications. http://www.ciao.co.uk/Productinformation/Toshiba_36ZT29B__5338246/

    As it says, it has progressive scan. and it says right on the front of the TV too.

    Now, Ive got a PS2 and Gamecube, which obviously use progressive scan too. But everytime I try to use the progressive scan, the TV just goes blank, ( blue is the blank colour for my tv ).

    The cables Ive tried to use on my TV are:

    A normal scart ps2 lead into the "scart" which says 1 x SCART (RGB) ( 21 PIN SCART ) - rear. That doesnt work. Which I kow shouldn’t.

    Well the Gamecube one I cant find on the net I bought, cost me about £40 Its got 2 things that plug into the Gamecube 1 purple cable and 1 black and they connect with each other, making 1 purple scart head. Supposedly for pal gamcubes. That doesn’t work either. This makes the picture better, but I also lose my surround sound which are connected into my tv.

    When I plug my red/yellow/white sockets from my Gamecube into the side of my TV, the picture is ok, not as good as the RGB scart, or my normal scart, but I get the proper surround sound.

    Then I have this cable, which has the connecting part to the xbox, ps2 and Gamecube, then a little box, which switches from av-to rgb and then the scart head for the consoles, and a red, yellow white thing. While that makes the picture better for my normal tv, playing import games, it doesn’t fix the progressive sound, and also I lose my surround sound.

    So I was wondering, what cables do I need to get progressive scan on my PS2 and Gamecube, and also xbox and dvd player. I use it mainly for import Japanese and US games.
    Will it be cables like these:
    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=23&products_id=1696&

    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=23&products_id=266&
    I don’t think this 1 will work

    https://www.consolesandgadgets.com/...03220&osCsid=7497150da98bbe418295b5193fd03220
    Lik-sang said this is for the pc monitors. And also gave me this message:
    Basically, just connect your DVD with the RGB scart cable and activate
    progressive scan mode, and you should be fine.


    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=76&products_id=1468&
    I think this might work, but cant seem to find a ps2 version.


    http://www.consolesandgadgets.com/c.../1005?osCsid=7497150da98bbe418295b5193fd03220

    Im very worried I cant get my progressive scan on my TV. It says progressive scan, and it should work. Is there anything like an all in 1, for all my consoles?

    Thank you very much, sorry for the long message.
    Pease please help me.

    sorry about posting this thread in 3 different boards here.
    Thank you

    Kourosh
     
  2. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    You need an NTSC console for progressive scan on your TV, it doesnt do pal progressive. This shouldnt be a prob as you mostly use import games?

    You also need the component cable for each console, RGB SCART won't work for progressive. Component is usuallr a red and a green and a blue cable, but isnt RGB, its YUV or Y, Pb, Pr or Y, Cb, Cr (same thing)
     
  3. Khearts

    Khearts
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,
    Thanks for the reply.
    My consoles are jpn or us, my ps2 and xbox are pal but play import games.
    Yeah the games I play are the ones with progressive scan option.

    The back of TV does have that Y, PB/CB, PR/CR.

    Could anyone give me an example of the cable I would need or where to buy from?
     
  4. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    you already linked to it. you need the component leads for each. lik sang do the xbox one (make sure you get the official xbox one) and i assume they do a ps2 one.
     
  5. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
  6. Slimchandi

    Slimchandi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you end up connecting a Scart to your telly for signal you will not get prog scan.

    The Gamecube has two outputs on the back as you have found out. One is the digital video, which only carries the progressive picture signal (has an odd shaped block on the gamecube end and three RCA connectors coloured red blue and green. You'll need to connect this to your telly. Because the GC doesn't have a digital audio connection, you'll also need the standard RGB Scart cable which has phono (red and white audio) connectors as well. So connect just the R+W phonos (not the Scart itself) to the same audio input assigned to the component input on your telly.

    This is pretty confusing! If you want me to clarify a bit more (typed a bit quickly!) just say so.
     

Share This Page

Loading...