1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi, need some help

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Khearts, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. Khearts

    Khearts
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    Ive just bought myself a Toshiba 36ZT29B.
    Here is a good site with the specifications. http://www.ciao.co.uk/Productinformation/Toshiba_36ZT29B__5338246/

    As it says, it has progressive scan. and it says right on the front of the TV too.

    Now, Ive got a PS2 and Gamecube, which obviously use progressive scan too. But everytime I try to use the progressive scan, the TV just goes blank, ( blue is the blank colour for my tv ).

    The cables Ive tried to use on my TV are:

    A normal scart ps2 lead into the "scart" which says 1 x SCART (RGB) ( 21 PIN SCART ) - rear. That doesnt work. Which I kow shouldn’t.

    Well the Gamecube one I cant find on the net I bought, cost me about £40 Its got 2 things that plug into the Gamecube 1 purple cable and 1 black and they connect with each other, making 1 purple scart head. Supposedly for pal gamcubes. That doesn’t work either. This makes the picture better, but I also lose my surround sound which are connected into my tv.

    When I plug my red/yellow/white sockets from my Gamecube into the side of my TV, the picture is ok, not as good as the RGB scart, or my normal scart, but I get the proper surround sound.

    Then I have this cable, which has the connecting part to the xbox, ps2 and Gamecube, then a little box, which switches from av-to rgb and then the scart head for the consoles, and a red, yellow white thing. While that makes the picture better for my normal tv, playing import games, it doesn’t fix the progressive sound, and also I lose my surround sound.

    So I was wondering, what cables do I need to get progressive scan on my PS2 and Gamecube, and also xbox and dvd player. I use it mainly for import Japanese and US games.
    Will it be cables like these:
    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=23&products_id=1696&

    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=23&products_id=266&
    I don’t think this 1 will work

    https://www.consolesandgadgets.com/...03220&osCsid=7497150da98bbe418295b5193fd03220
    Lik-sang said this is for the pc monitors. And also gave me this message:
    Basically, just connect your DVD with the RGB scart cable and activate
    progressive scan mode, and you should be fine.


    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=76&products_id=1468&
    I think this might work, but cant seem to find a ps2 version.


    http://www.consolesandgadgets.com/c.../1005?osCsid=7497150da98bbe418295b5193fd03220

    Im very worried I cant get my progressive scan on my TV. It says progressive scan, and it should work. Is there anything like an all in 1, for all my consoles?

    Thank you very much, sorry for the long message.
    Pease please help me.

    sorry about posting this thread in 3 different boards here.
    Thank you

    Kourosh
     
  2. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +825
    The answers are probably in the product manuals.
    The Toshiba almost certainly takes progressive video using component inputs.
    The games may output progressive video using RBG, which is quite incompatible.

    However, even if you did connect RGB to component, you may still get a picture. The colours wouold be completely wrong, though. The fact that you are getting no picture at all suggests there is something wrong with the frame and line synchronisation pulses. You may need to get some information from the manuals on what the interfaces should be. Look for things like "horizontal refresh rate" and "sync polarity" and things like that.

    Most importantly, are you sure PS2 has a progressive output? If you are using scart, that is limited to interlaced video only. That's not the end of the road, but it will make things more difficult.

    Nick
     
  3. Khearts

    Khearts
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,
    Thanks for the reply.
    My consoles are jpn or us, my ps2 and xbox are pal but play import games.
    Yeah the games I play are the ones with progressive scan option. They give that option. But im not sure about PS2 having an output for it.

    The back of TV does have that Y, PB/CB, PR/CR.

    Could anyone give me an example of the cable I would need or where to buy from?
     
  4. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +825
    What's the physical output of the PS2?

    Nick
     
  5. TheDoctor

    TheDoctor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +42
    Hi Khearts

    You need a PS2-component cable. Sony make official component cables for the PS2. Cheaper versions are available but people have complained about the quality. Connect to the component inputs of your TV and off you go with progressive scanning gameplay.

    Doc
     

Share This Page

Loading...