1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi def Xbox question again - sorry!!!

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Gary D, Feb 3, 2004.

  1. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    Guys and gals i'm sorry to ask this again

    I've read through the threads and got a little confused so a simple yes or no to this will do:

    i have a modded xbox and a 36" Tosh Picture Frame 1 TV if i buy a hi def cable can i display the higher resolution modes? using the componant connection on the tosh?


    cheers


    Gary
     
  2. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    From memory the PF1 will only take a 480p signal, it'll be progressive, but no increased resolution...
     
  3. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +929
    as stated in the previous post i am sure that your tosh will only take 480p and not the hidef 720 & 1080, but if you are currently using the standard lead that comes with the xbox then 480p will be much much better and the difference will be night & day.
     
  4. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +283
    As far as Im aware (correct me if Im wrong by all means) the Toshiba Picture Frame 1 doesnt accept a prog scan signal at all, it just has a Component input.

    The Toshiba Strata's accept NTSC prog scan and the Picture Frame 2's accept both PAL and NTSC.

    Things may have changed so take this with a pinch of salt :)
     
  5. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    So much for my memory, I stand corrected... I'm confusing it with the Strata as you say...
     
  6. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    thanks for the replies. I use an advanced scart (RGB) at the mo, i've been thinking about using the componant inputs/outputs on my amp to carry both my DVD/xbox signals. but if i'm not going to get an increase in resolution then i'm not sure i'm going to bother with the expense of new cables etc.

    thanks for clearing it up for me.



    Gary
     
  7. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Before i bought my plasma i owned a Toshiba 36ZP18 picture frame tv and as stated, it does not do prog scan. 480i Interlaced component only im afraid but it is still slightly superior to the advanced RGB scart cable, as long as you buy the official US HDTV pack i would certainly give the thumbs up to the upgrade :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...