1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hi-def plasma to pc

Discussion in 'TVs' started by chaddy, Jul 7, 2005.

  1. chaddy

    chaddy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +66
    hi peeps 1st post, hope you can help.
    I'm getting a panasonic th37pv500 on monday, now i've downloaded some hd clips to show off its power.
    Now i'm just wondering what resolution do i sent my graphics card too ?
    cheers
     
  2. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +825
    The same as the native resolution of the display, which I believe is 1024 x 768. I think most modern cards have that as a preset option.

    Remember WMV9 isn't the be-all and end-all of HD.
     
  3. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    The native resolution of the 37PV500 is 1024x720.

    Steve
     
  4. image165

    image165
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Surely the PC will output the WMV-HD video non-anamorphically, so it will have letterbox bars. Right? In which case, how do you get your PC to output a WMV-HD video anamorphically at 1024x720, so that it makes use of all the pixels on the Panasonic Plasma TV?
     
  5. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    You don't, the TV does the trickery. The video will be predetermined as to its resolution, so there's nowt the user can mess around with to change that.
     
  6. image165

    image165
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    So basically, all you have to do is connect a PC to a Panasoinc 42PV500 (via the PC input socket), play back a WMV-HD file in Windows Media Player, and it will fill the plasma screen, with a beautiful high-definition picture, right? That sounds surprisingly easy. Infact, too good to be true.
     
  7. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +825
    We've all got PCs.
    Just try experimenting with changing the display settings.
    Yes, it is that easy.
    Nick
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    This has also been discussed in the plasma forum. Unfortunately the 37PV500 does not, AFAWK, accept native rate on any input, your best bet is 1280/720 on digital, with a DVI-HDMI cable. With a PC signal there is a fairly hideous amount of overscan. A common problem with TV plasma, that's why everyone bangs on about display models so much.
     
  9. peterho

    peterho
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    east yorks
    Ratings:
    +8
    what lead do i need to connect my Sony 415b laptop to my Hitachi 7200 to watch hidef video clips on windows media player,sorry if it seems a stupid question ,I am baffled by the jargon.

    thanks Peter
     
  10. chaddy

    chaddy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +66
    tried it today with my new panny pv500, couldn't get the resolution right with dvi to hdmi, was to big for screen.
    Changed back to the d-sub & it was perfect, shame that my pc couldn't handle wmv-hi-def clips when connected to the panny, it can do it on my grundig 17" LCD but not on the panny
     

Share This Page

Loading...