Hi Def - HDMI multiple inputs?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by johnaalex, Feb 14, 2005.

  1. johnaalex

    johnaalex
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Acton, West London
    Ratings:
    +2,951
    Having just got the Pio XDE435 and the Denon 3910 I am well impressed with the picture via the HDMI link and eagerly await Sky's hi def service, but how will I be able to connect the Denon & the Sky box to the Pio for the best results as there is only only HDMI input?

    TIA

    John :lease:
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
  3. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +921
    Though that device lists only a 60Hz vertical refresh rate. Don't know if it is doing some regeneration linked to sync pulses - if it is then it might not like 50Hz stuff. On the other hand they may only list 60Hz because 50Hz HDMI isn't that common yet?
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    HDMI switchers are available NOW...HDMI switching AV amps will be available soonish, they may even put another one on the SKY HD box so you can pass through (doubt it tho)
     
  5. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +921
    Yep - and I would hope that TVs start appearing with multiple HDMI inputs soon, in the same way that most TVs have 2 or 3 SCART sockets these days.
     
  6. johnaalex

    johnaalex
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Acton, West London
    Ratings:
    +2,951
    I kind of expected that a little box maybe required...

    Even if TVs do start coming with multiple HDMI inputs I cannot see me dumping my 435 in the near future.

    Also, I hope (and expect) that when the Sky Hi Def service does start, the price of the little bowes will fall (eventualy) and the quality improve.

    Who knows, it could start another forum...

    Regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...