1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi-Def and the Sharp LC26GA5E

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Tomdale, Aug 18, 2005.

  1. Tomdale

    Tomdale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    According to the Sharp website I can receive HDTV through a receiver connected to the component input. Does this mean I would be able to receive the full hi def service from sky or ntl even although the TV set is not 'HD Ready'??
     
  2. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +77
    Unless the content provider decides otherwise
     
  3. Tomdale

    Tomdale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    How do you mean?

    I am new to LCD & HDTV etc.

    If my tv has no dvi port will I still be able to get HD tv?
     
  4. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +67
    Sky has said that the first generation of Sky+ boxes will have a component output which would include HD output. However, it will only be usable if the content provider allows the prgramme/film to be transmitted without HDCP copy-protection (since this only works over a digital connection).

    Bear in mind also that, over time, more and more programming will more than likely become HDCP only, as more people go out and buy HD Ready sets.
     
  5. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    HD can be transmitted digitally and analoguosly - in the case of the former, you'll need a DVI or HDMI connector. In the case of the latter, you'll need a VGA or Component connection.
    As a non HD-Ready TV, your DVI connection will not have the HDCP implementation necessary, so HD material will only be displayed at 480/576p whereas the VGA or Component will do the full 720p/1080i that the signal happens to be.
     
  6. dsb

    dsb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you might want to check out the sharp models that have DVI or HMDI - although they cost a bit more.
     

Share This Page

Loading...