1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HGS-15 Review. beware . . . .

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by TT9, Mar 25, 2003.

1. TT9

TT9

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    . . . . i'm not too good with words but here goes. . . .

I thought I would write a few words about my recent HGS-15 purchase. What HiFi '5 page spread a £100 CD player' boys need not feel threatened but I'll do my best !

I have had this beast a little over a month now, and have hesitated writing anything until I was completely happy with the setup and the initial emotion had been replaced by a more considered opinion. That time is now and so I pen a few thoughts.

I took delivery courtesy of everyone's favorite uncle mid-February. First impression was 'my goodness its heavy' as I heaved it up the stairs. Taking it out of its packing, I was able to appreciate the extreme high standard of workmanship on the piece, especially the gorgeous veneer piano like finish. Now a big black box stuck at the side of your room is not for everyone's [wives] furnished tastes, but I am from the camp that thinks this should be shown off. It really is a lovely finish, and mine sits proudly on display starting conversations with gasps for all those who meet with beast for the first time.

My first experience of distortion free bass, in fact of any bass (first sub!), was strange to say the least. Keen to test it out quickly prior to leaving to work I placed the thing in the middle of the room, wired it up as fast as I could, turned it on, and put on a CD, REM Monster i think. Excitement turned to disappointment when the big bad rumble I was expecting was not to be heard. In fact I couldn't hear anything. Blue light on, Tag on Direct+Sub, and nothing at all. Damn, huge annoyance, probably a connection so I turned the Velo off to check wiring . . . . . .