Here's the 3910 hack

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by Barend, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi folks,
    The Denon 3910 multi region hack works well, I've received it from a very kind forum member and placed it on my website for all to enjoy:
    www.xs4all.nl/~barendh/3910.exe
    Unpack and burn to cd.
    Please note:
    YOU DO IT ON YOUR OWN RISK and follow the directions EXACTLY.
    For some reason I had to switch off the player a couple of times after finishing and reset the connected receiver too.
    But now I can view mny R1 discs again!

    At least in my country it is NOT illegal to do this, it has nothing to do with illegal copying, it's about companies protecting their price diffs in parts of the world.

    Enjoy!
    Barend :hiya:
     
  2. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Thank you dood!!!

    How easy!! I cant beleive where I live they would charge people money to do this!!
     
  3. nelius

    nelius
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't suppose this will work on a 1910?
     
  4. paulw77

    paulw77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2000
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +41
    I'd be interested in this too - any guinea pigs ??!!
     
  5. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I doubt it very much as the 3910 settings will have options which do not relate to the 1910 as well as all sorts of other likely firmware differences. I would be very very wary of trying this.
     
  6. johndonovan

    johndonovan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Barend

    Wouldn't work for me - 3910 simply didn't see the file - don't know whether or not the file needs renaming or anything doing with it before copying to CD? Probably doing something stupid...

    suggestions welcome

    cheers
     
  7. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I think the file may need to be named as it was provided from Denon. Try renaming it to (exactly)

    d31zsavd.cfw

    and also make sure you set your burner to burn as ISO9660 and turn off Joliet. Should work now. Although it may be that you need to try different media. A standard CDR did not work for me so I burned to a DVD-RW
     
  8. pcavelle

    pcavelle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    I had the same problem as johndonovan but followed Neils instructions, burned to a DVD (non Joliet) & then it worked.

    Basically, I don't think the file should have been renamed in the first place. Works fine now though.

    Paul
     
  9. sprout

    sprout
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,859
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bridwater Somerset M5 Junction 23/24
    Ratings:
    +216
    The downloaded file ia an executable file. I would think it needs to be run and extracted first. Then the 3910.cfw then needs to be copied to the route of a disc. This is from general PC knowledge, not direct know how of this specific file.
    I have the 3910 but will wait for my dealer to obtain the update for me! Chicken? Probably, but it cost me a lot of money.
    Below is a copy of the instructions that come with the file.


    The instructions are as follows. Burn file to CD then

    1. Connect to display device.

    2. Insert disc

    3. Display will show “disc loading” then “updating flash memory“
    FL display will show “writing”

    4. After 1minute loader will open.

    5. Remove disc and power off. DO NOT CLOSE TRAY

    6. Power on and close loader

    7. Now press and hold Play (>), Forward skip (>>I) and Open/Close for more than 3 seconds until “INITIALIZED” appears on front display.
     
  10. BrianC

    BrianC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +101
    Just taken delivery of my 3910, and I've successfully upgraded it to multi region using the above file, but the multi region mod would only work once I had burned the file to DVD+R and changed its name to d31zsavd.cfw.
     
  11. JetJockey

    JetJockey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Lads.

    Sorry to trouble you with this but everybody here seems to be a Denon 3910 owner.

    I am just about to purchase one of these instead of a DV79. Can you give me any feedback on the 3910 performance pleas?

    Thanks, Gerald. :)
     
  12. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Grab yourself the latest What Hi-Fi mag. Great review of this plus many others including the Pio 868 and Arcam players. Bottom line, they loved it although I think from reading the whole lot that they preferred the Pio 868 from a video only perspective but preferred the 3910/3805 combo overall.

    As to video performance I see no difference via HDMI between my 868 and 3910.
     
  13. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    On a cynical note, grab yourself the next issues as well, as WH is known to alter their views after some time...and please read between the lines very carefully!
    I wouldn't trust ANY mag's views over a forum member's opinion!
    I for me prefer the Denon, if only because it lets me select a 40Hz crossover for the sub, and I think the component video is better than the DV868avi.

    Barend
     
  14. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Agreed, but as I assumed he has already read all the posts on this forum (and maybe at AVS as well) I thought some extra reading would simply corroborate what we are all saying :D (my disc problem aside).
     
  15. Petesapie

    Petesapie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +0
    First post for me in this forum. I live in sweden. :hiya:

    What firmwareversion is this? Can somebody that has updated the player tell me this?
    I have 6609-5 (PAL) right now and I'm just curious about this file.
     
  16. Wedlock

    Wedlock
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +15
    Is the procedure for making the player regionfree the same for every player ?

    I mean up to the part of holding keys before it initializes ?

    Thanks.
     
  17. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    For every 3910 yes.
     
  18. Wedlock

    Wedlock
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +15
    So not for say a 2910 ??
     
  19. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I think there's a 2910 and 1910 MR firmware upgrade thread here somewhere. I'm sure they'll give instructions. You certainly don't want to use the 3910 MR firmware for any other model though. Surest way to knacker your machine. Take care.
     
  20. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
  21. Wedlock

    Wedlock
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +15
    Found a instruction with the 2910 firmware upgrade to make it regionfree :D

    Basicly it works the same as the instructions for the 3910.

    Thanks for your help Messiah :thumbsup:
     
  22. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Excellent. Enjoy :smashin:
     
  23. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just a point re. reviews of the 3910.

    I've recently read the one in Hi-Fi News and to say they didn't like it would be something of an understatement. Mind you, it was geared more toward its musical capabilites than visual.


    David
     
  24. awhb

    awhb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately, the download link to the 3910 hack that Barend put up on his site no longer works. :(

    Does anyone know where else this can be downloaded from?

    Thanks.
     
  25. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Sorry,
    I thought everyone had it by now, so I removed it... :rolleyes:
    So I will upload it right away!
    Cheers
    Barend
     
  26. awhb

    awhb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks :thumbsup:
     
  27. Miniholic

    Miniholic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    The Shire
    Ratings:
    +398
    Thanks Barend. :thumbsup:

    Loaded up the new firmware this afternoon, and have just watched a couple of R1 discs with no problems at all. :clap:
     
  28. Jorgen

    Jorgen
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could somebody please check the version of Barend's multi-region firmware. I found the following instructions on avsforum to check for the version:

    To confirm the software version on the DVD3910:
    1. Turn the small power button off on the front of the unit.
    2. Hold down the PLAY and OPEN/CLOSE buttons on the front of the unit, both at the same time.
    3. Turn the power back on and continue holding the buttons for 3 seconds, then let go.
    4. After “>II LOADING” shows on the display, press the 3,2,6,5 buttons on the remote (in that order) and then press the MENU button to see the version. Press MENU again five times to see the other settings for the firmware.


    If I perform this procedure on my R2 DVD-3910 (purchased recently in the Netherlands), I get the following result. (NOTE THAT THIS IS THE ORIGINAL FIRMWARE AND NOT BAREND'S VERSION):

    ESS 6609-5
    MAKE DAY 831
    DRV 030825
    SYSTEM 6767-2
    DSP 6770
    CNE 20040609

    I suppose that the first line is the version but it would be really nice to see all lines from somebody that has installed the multi-region firmware.

    Regards,
    Jørgen
     
  29. Demon00

    Demon00
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is my multiregion firmware..

    ESS 6609-5
    Make day 831
    DRV 030825
    Sys 6767-2
    DSP 6770
    CNE 20040609

    Cheers
    Daniel
     
  30. Jorgen

    Jorgen
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, Daniel. That sounds great. It appears that the multi-region firmware is based on the original version I have. Just to confirm:

    1) Did you use the firmware from Barend's link (in the first post of this thread)?
    2) Are you located in Europe (Region 2)?

    Also, do you happen to use PAL DVI? My PAL DVI (with the original firmware) works perfectly with a Philips 42PF9966 plasma (European model). However, Barend (in a new thread on this topic) has had some problems with PAL DVI on his Panny using his own multi-region firmware. Since, it appears, his multi-region firmware is based on the firmware I have, that is a bit strange (unless the problem is really with the Denon-Panny combination).

    Cheers,
    Jørgen
     

Share This Page

Loading...