Here Are The Specs For The Panasonic Dmre500 Jsut Got From My Brother Works At Panaso

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by get1a2get1a2, Aug 12, 2004.

  1. get1a2get1a2

    get1a2get1a2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Panasonic DMRE500
    Plays pre-recorded DVD's & CD's
    Built in analogue & digital TV tuner
    Ethernet connection for networking
    DVD-Audio (5.1) playback
    Built-in Dolby Digital and DTS Decoders
    HDMI output
    MP3 Playback
    DVD Audio Playback (Stereo)
    Records on DVD-RAM & DVD-R Video Blank Media
    Will make discs that will play in most existing DVD players (DVD-R only)
    Uses VBR (Variable Bit Rate) Technology to maintain high picture quality
    Videoplus+
    Playback programs recorded to DVD-RAM or HDD while watching another program on DVD-RAM or HDD
    Internal 400GB HD for time shifting
    High speed transfer (22 Mbps) to and from HDD to DVD-RAM
    When transferring at 1x speed from HDD to DVD-RAM or DVD-R, formats can be re-encoded eg XP mode > EP mode)
    Allows non-linear editing to transfer to DVD-RAM and from DVD-RAM to HDD
    Playback while recording even at high bit rates (HDD and DVD-RAM)
    Uses the single layer 4.7GB DVD-R (once only) system and DVD-RAM 4.7Gb systems
    Records in real-time using MPEGII compression-Up to 6 hours per DVD-RAM disc
    Quick recording function automatically finds the blank part of the disc
    Variable Data rate and variable resolution settings
    Disc navigation thumbnail chapter view
    Built-in time base corrector that delivers highly stable, natural images
    Front A/V input
    Full RGB in and out
    Flexible recording mode allows you to manually a time for recording and the player will set the best possible bit rate for that time, say 1 hour 15 minutes to fill a disc
    Can record and playback NTSC and PAL
    Progressive Scan (PAL & NTSC)
    Firewire (i-link) DV input
    PCMCIA PC Card upgrade slot
    SD Card Reader for JPEG, TIFF and MPEG4 playback
     
  2. dempsey

    dempsey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Certainly looks impressive on paper, where in Pana does your brother work, as a sales rep etc, or in one of the support functions?

    D
     
  3. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,188
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +722
    when's it out? and how much?
     
  4. dempsey

    dempsey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure on release but have heard around the £1k mark
    :rolleyes:
     
  5. JH4

    JH4
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,429
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +271
    Shame its not got DVI out and won't record dual layer..
     
  6. Kingsley

    Kingsley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The features listed are just copied and pasted from AVLAND, but with a 400GB HDD entered in>
    http://www.avland.co.uk/panasonic/dmre500/dmre500.htm

    The full spec has a world wide embargo on it until September the 9th.

    It may not come with a 400GB HDD depending on what happens with HDD prices.
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    It's got HDMI out which is better ;) You can easily get an HDMI > DVI cable but obviously the audio won't be carried.

    The core issue IMHO is whether it supports the Freeview 7 day EPG and, if it does, whether you can set the recorder's Timer using it. Also it is quite important it has an 'overrun' option as well IMHO. If it has all this then it will be formiddle competition for the Sony RX10.
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,788
  9. OARDVD

    OARDVD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deepest Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm, 22 Mbps is 2x speed. I don’t think that this can be the maximum since I believe that even the E85 & E95 can transfer between HDD & RAM at 3x, so I would have expected that the E500 would do it at 3x or possibly 5x.
     
  10. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    Notice the AvLand specs have been revised again and HDMI has been dropped as well now :thumbsdow If this turns out to be correct Panasonic will loose their high end DVD recorder crown. The Pioneer 920 looks, on paper, a much better option. And the Sony RX10 or Toshiba RDXS34 will probably take the crown soon after. I would have expected better from Panasonic although I guess we'll have to wait and see....
     
  11. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,000
    Very interesing and thanks to the OP for sharing it.

    My comments on the item in question.......

    Wot; no re-writable, universally playable discs?
    Wot; no dual layer?

    Oh, and why do I have to pay for and onboard DD and DTS decoder when pretty much all AV amps have them, too?

    And how sophisticated is the non-linear editing?

    At least they've been bright enough to put a DVB tuner on board.

    On day, someone will make one of these that has everything it needs, and nothing it doesn't. But not today IMO.
     
  12. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    Yes that is fairly annoying. I suppose it was inevitable if they added 5.1 outputs though...

    There is no such thing as a universally compatible re-writeable disk - DVD-RW/+RW have a compatibility rating of a little under 90%. And it's debatable whether they are needed or not. If your the kind of person who would use such disks you'd get a Toshiba or Pioneer. Most users only use DVD-R on their HDD/DVDR...

    That's a year or so away yet for HDD/DVDR combos...

    Presumably the same as on all the other Panasonic series. You can conduct destructive (partial erase) or non-destructive editting (playlists). Disk space is reclaimed as you delete stuff.

    Lets hope so. But as I say the AvLand site has deleted the DVB tuner from it's specs (what the original poster copied and pasted) which is a bad omen IMHO. It could just be Germany/mainland Europe who gets a DVB...
     
  13. TonyK

    TonyK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hove
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anybody got any idea what the Ethernet link can be used for ?

    With harddrives this size I am starting to think about reserving 80G of it and putting my MP3s in it. Can any of the harddrive based recorders do this sort of thing ?

    Thanks for any info.
     
  14. CLH

    CLH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    Is 400GB really neccessary?? don't get me wrong I'm all for having all the space I can but short of putting all the US shows I watch from January to May on there at XP I just don't understand why it's needed (Particularly since I have Sky+).

    Heck if I put that much stuff on there I wouldn't actually be watching it!!!
     
  15. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    e.g. Transferring JPEGs, setting the Timer via an online EPG, possibly transferring video from HDD to PC. That is what this connection has been used for in Japan anyway.

    I'm afraid none of the machines will let you do this at the moment.

    The specs have been changed to 250GB now - although a HDD/DVDR combo can never have too much capacity IMHO. In future models 400GB HDD (and greater) will be invaluable for High Def recording and also has a benefit inside the Sony models as they have a 15MBits/S setting.
     
  16. jrecampbell

    jrecampbell
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I read on this forum I suspect that HDMI is the preferred future high def path, but my 32" Sharp LCD TV has a DVI-I input. So, some questions:

    1. Where can I get an adaptor for HDMI to DVI and vice versa?
    2. Is the bandwidth comparable? In other words, when hi def comes along will DVI cut it?
    3. Will a picture output from an HDMI machine look as good on DVI?
    4. Will copy-protected films output ok with this kind of HDMI to DVI adaptor? HDMI is encrypted, right?

    It's a minefield at the moment to be future-proofed and I just want to be sure that the DVI input on my TV isn't already effectively out of date.
     
  17. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    It is without a doubt.

    Ask on the Plasmas forum for the best advice on that.

    HDMI is effectively DVI with audio. In reality it is slightly more complex than that. For example the HDMI 'standard' has specified resolution, refresh rates etc which may not be totally supported by all DVI inputs (and vice versa) many of which are designed for use with PCs. Again your best off on the Plasmas forum if you want to discuss that further. But to answer your question then yes DVI can take a High Def signal.

    Yes - whatever it's an all digital route - although it all depends upon the properties of your screen.

    AFAIK you need a DVI (HDCP Compliant) connection. You'll need to check with your supplier or on the Plasmas/LCD forum to see if your DVI socket meets this requirement and, if not, whether there is a workaround.
     
  18. zeropoint

    zeropoint
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
  19. burcac

    burcac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope the ethernet link will enable sharing of recordings between other e500's around the home? Four e500s would make a terrabyte of video available without leaving the armchair, beats getting up to load another disc!
     
  20. Nelviticus

    Nelviticus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hitchin
    Ratings:
    +69
    Hmm, the Japanese version has a jog dial on the remote but there isn't one on the pic of the Euro version. Seems odd.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice