1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

helppppppp !!!! black and white !!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by neal666, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. neal666

    neal666
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    ok the set up is:

    denon 2805
    pw7 plasma
    dvd player
    ntl digi

    i have a problem i have the dvd connected to the avr with a s-video cable and the ntl connected with a "scart to svideo" cable then i have the component out going to the tv. the problem is i cannot seem to get a colour pic with the svideo connection. i have tryed all sorts. if i connect the dvd via the yellow composite then out on the component then is in colour why is it when i am using svideo is it black and white (grayscale) both on the ntl and dvd???????????

    help help help
     
  2. neal666

    neal666
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    please
     
  3. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Does the 2805 have Up Conversion ?
     
  4. neal666

    neal666
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    yes
     
  5. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Neal,

    You haven't told us the make of the DVD player but I am guessing that it is not outputting S-video on its scart output socket. Probably a menu optioin in the DVD player, ditto the NTL box.

    Piers

    www.homecinemaengineering.com
     
  6. neal666

    neal666
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    gents,
    i have sorted the dvd it was a setting in then menu, still not working with ntl but i think its just down tot he lack of support for it.

    i have another question or two. i have set the following up today with my new pw7 (i must say there is nothing which touches this plasma love it)
    i have a 5.1 set of evo 3b and a denon 2805 avr running them with the dvd in via 2 rca and 1 s-video but i am getting some cracky noise through them it does not do it when tunes in on the radio just the dvd would this be down to the dvd being a poor quality one. its only a cheap thing (£35) until i get a denon one.
     
  7. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Neal,

    Get the Denon and your problems will be solved, sounds like you are sending analogue audio from your cheapo DVD player. Doesn't it have a digital audio output - unlikely at this price but you never know!

    What menu options are there on the NTL box? Can it do S-video via scart? I am fairly sure that it does RGB via scart, so think about an RGB to VGA converter for it.

    Piers
     
  8. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    I know for a fact NTL can NOT output s-video via scart. Only composite and RGb.
     
  9. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    Actually only the first generation of ntl PACE digital set top boxes, 4001 series A, outputs S-video or composite via SCART, I know because I have one and currently use it with AV2 on my Viera. It also has stereo audio output via RCA sockets. Ntl subsequently changed the specs such that all set top boxes after this first generation can only output RGB or composite via SCART.

    *EDIT* Link

    P.S. I'm on the Langley network so the specs for the Bromley network maybe completely different.

    S.
     

Share This Page

Loading...