Help!!!!!

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by shack, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. shack

    shack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't know if this is a fault but at the moment my Sky box is running through a 4:3 television in 4:3L letterbox mode. Since I have only had it just over a week I want to know if it is a fault. The letterbox borders at the top and bottom of the screen are blue! Now being though I used to have Sky I know they used to be plain old black which is a bit easier on the eyes for waching films etc. The other night I was watching a film on Sky movies, when I changed the channel and then moved it back they black!! I have changed connections and settings to no avail. Being though it is not even two weeks old I was going to get it replaced but before I do this I just wanted to check if any one knows if this is a fault??? :(

    Any ideas???

    p.s. Do I call Sky direct or the local specialists who installed it?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    How does the TV react if you feed it a letterbox image from a DVD?
    It sounds to me more likely the TV itself is deciding what sort of "black" to show when there is no picture since the digibox if it was having colour issues would not limit it to just a handful of scan lines at the top and bottom.
     
  3. shack

    shack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1
    just tried it on a new set with different scart cable and same results :confused:
     
  4. shack

    shack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1
    Who do I call?

    Sky or the independant who installed it?

    I just know they will try and offer me a refurb box, but for something thats just under two weeks old I expect a new one :mad:
     
  5. FRANTIC FRANC

    FRANTIC FRANC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +86
    Hey, I've never seen this one before! You are right the letterbox mode on the skybox is in black. The only time I've seen different colours is on a Panasonic TV whereby you could choose the colour of the borders in the TV's menu but that was on a widescreen tv. If it happenss again press the tv button on your rcu (this will switch the sky output to PAL ((if it is currently in RGB mode that is)) and see if it changes colour) If it does then suspect scart or scart sockets on the tv or digibox. However if your rcu doesn't work the volume on your tv then you will need to go into the menu and change it to PAL there instead. Cheers, Franc
     
  6. Anuj

    Anuj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just come onto AV forums to look for help regarding the exact same problem.
    I have a Toshiba TV which has been working fine for ages, my box was replaced this morning under my extended warranty (Nationwide Digital Satellite). They replaced my old Grundig with a new Thomson.
    Now the widescreen bars are blue and I can't change it!!
    It cannot be the TV as it was working fine before the box was changed, but I don't know what it is.

    Any ideas?
     
  7. Anuj

    Anuj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found out how to fix it!! Go to BBC 101 and press "text" on your Sky Remote, then press the "Sky" button to exit text.
    Once you've done that, it should be fine - I didn't beleive it would work when I read it, but it did :)
     
  8. shack

    shack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1
    It only works for while mate. I have had may box replaced so it isn't a hardware fault! From what I know when they (Sky or independant) set up the boxes they default them to 4:3 standard i.e non letterbox so people don't notice it, either that or no one has 4:3 tv's any more! :rolleyes:
     
  9. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    What make/model of dodgibox?

    I have heard of this problem but only so far on Thompson boxes, certainly all 3 of my Pace boxes and my friends Amstrad are black.:cool:
     
  10. shack

    shack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah it's a Thomson DS14214C!

    Have switched it for my old Pace 2500 and thats much better! :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...