Help :(

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by Cass88, Mar 21, 2006.

1. Cass88

Cass88

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Heya :hiya:

Right heres my problem, and im a student so dont have much cash. (Wanna spend £45 max .. if i can, lol

I want to transfer my VHS films to my computer so i can make a little film thing for one of my friends 18ths. But im not sure what i need for it.

Ive got a JVC Compact VHS Camcorder, and pretty sure that its got a Firewire connection. And a Patriot 3050 Laptop, which im sure hasnt got a firewire connection. Can i buy a connection for this which i dont have to have inside the actualy computer ..like something i can plug in and take out when i want to?.

I know i also need some video - editing software, but do i need anything else apart from all this lot?

Sorry to be a pain

2. stevegreen

stevegreen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +921
    Moving to Camcorders :)

3. Cass88

Cass88

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    also just been told that i can just buy a tv card (if it fits into my laptop) and transfer them that way

4. redsox_mark

redsox_mark

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +620
  5. senu

senu
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    No Mark they didnt last time I checked.
    Cass ,are you sure your camcorder has firewire??

Firewire is meant to transfer digital material which vhs is not. An exception is the digital 8 camcorders which interally convert hi8 analogue to Digital prior to transfer via firewire though no timecode is generated

Besides the total HDD space of the Patriot 3050 is 30G. Video is very greedy for HDD space

Seems to me the easiest way here would be for you to transfer the vhs material to a settop DVD recorder ( Know anybody who has one and will let you?).