1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help !

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Gordon @ Convergent AV, Oct 6, 2005.

  1. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,781
    Trying to record something off SkyPlus to DVD. Went in to COPY and it says input PIN. I have no idea what my PIN is. How do I find out....is there a default....tried 1111 and then another likely number and now I have one shot left....not only that it's now LOCKED on the planner and it's taking up 2hrs....argh....

    Gordon
     
  2. jshaw_82

    jshaw_82
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +3
    Its the last 4 digits of your viewing card number....
     
  3. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Usually, if not call Sky CS and ask them for your PIN... PIN protection is part of the parental control update on the recent firmware update...
     
  4. KBD1

    KBD1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Gordon.
    It will be your last 4 digits on your very first card. Number is on your Sky contract papers, if you have them.
    I also had same problem & phoned Sky, but they kept me on hold. Gave up.
    Tried number on contract & it worked. Changed pin number to one i could remember.
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,781
    Thanks guys....unfortunately i have no idea where my original 100yr old contract is.......and the current card is not the right number....and there is currently a 58 minute wait on the help line....so I'll try later when I've had a few beers and am in a reallly stropey mood.......Just need to set this thing to record overnight......

    Thanks for the help though...at least now I know I need to speak with them.

    Gordon
     
  6. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    On 0870 number "national rate" of 5p per minute give you £2.90 of waiting time.

    StooMonster
     
  7. stroppygoblin

    stroppygoblin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    In $ky's defence (never thought I'd say that) my experience of getting the pin number was very quick and easy. I was on hold for approx 1 min, the representative was able to retrieve my code in seconds - all in all very painless.
     
  8. Heinz

    Heinz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earle Colne, Colchester
    Ratings:
    +15
    Sky's 0870 numbers cost 7.51p per minute to call from a BT landline during the day - so 58 minutes on hold would cost you/earn them £4.35 or so.
     
  9. HHGTTG

    HHGTTG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    841
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +56
    Try http://www.saynoto0870.co.uk and try to find a Geographical number which would cost less than an 0870 number.
     
  10. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    but he phoned in the evening when the rate is a bit cheaper so the £2.90 quote is the correct one....(my work is on a 0870 so i know this...heh)

    unless he called from a mobile, then it might have been free or cost him £94.70....lol

    (never call 08 or 09 numbers from a mobile unless u know what ur provider charges..heh)

    i find the best time to call Sky is about 5:30 in the afternoon, most people are travelling then to and from work so the lines are not so busy :)
     
  11. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    i dont agree with things like Doctors surgeries using 0870, i think that is just plain madness....

    however because of something we provide to people who call us, getting a cut of the call cost helps us out......we are a company, not a charitable concern or state welfare system........the biggest problem tho is when a mobile user calls us, they can end up paying through the nose sometimes, especially if on a crap PAYG plan......but hey, plenty of companies stiff you for money in various ways, to be honest i think this is probably one of the cheaper ways to get stiffed...lol
    (Dixons stylee extended warranties anyone for teh titleholder?..lol)

    edit: hmm, not sure its clear so just in case, by we i meant the company i work for, it is not a Dr's or Sky....thought it might be best to mention that in case somebody grabs wrong end of stick..lol)
     
  12. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    just checked the numbers for my company under 0870, one is invalid and the other is our main reception.....who if you get through to and ask to do what you are meant to phone the 0870 number for will give you the 0870 number and tell you to call that...heh

    no getting round it with us ;-)
     
  13. Heinz

    Heinz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earle Colne, Colchester
    Ratings:
    +15
    There would be for me - you'd lose my custom.
     
  14. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    oh no....we lost a customer!!!!!!

    oh well, next....

    heh ;-)
     

Share This Page

Loading...