1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Senor Pepper, Apr 1, 2005.

  1. Senor Pepper

    Senor Pepper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Ive got a denon 3802 receiver with component out to projector.

    Xbox and dvd work excellent through component inputs.

    My problem is when I connect cable tv via a quality svideo connector to the receiver.
    As far as I can see I have the correct settings on the denon receiver and the cable box receiver.

    The picture is very fuzzy and in black/white.
    Its very frustrating and some help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Presumably the picture is fine directly connecting the STB to the projector .. just for a test try using an S-Video connection from the receiver to see if it's a problem in the transcoding to component.
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,528
    Senor Pepper

    I'll assume you bought a 'Quality' SCART to S-Video cable - if yes then your problem may stem from the Source Outputting RGB or Composite on SCART and NOT S-Video.

    A SCART to S-Video cable only works correctly if the SCART socket is actually outputting S-Video - otherwise you get a Black and White image.

    You may be better with a JS Technology RGB to Component converter and switching the Cable box as a Third YUV 'Component ' signal.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  4. Senor Pepper

    Senor Pepper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the quick reply :thumbsup:

    Yeah off the top of my head I cant remember what settings the cable box has but yeah I think theres just 2 output settings, composite and rgb.

    So what you say does make sense.
    Ive not tried connecting directly to the projector but i dont think its a transcoding to component problem as my video camera works fine using composite into the amp.

    I think Joe is right in that the STB cant output svideo...

    So my lowest quality option would be to use composite, but whats gonna be the best? Scart to RGB lead?

    I want to avoid another YUV input as ive got 3 into 2 already via a splitter and its annoying switching between xbox and ps2, having to change the digital audio input settings everytime.
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    For my NTL box I used to use a SCART->S-Video convertor box from JS Tech, in the same range as the RGB->YUV converter Joe mentioned.
     
  6. Senor Pepper

    Senor Pepper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks

    What was the picture quality like? Was it a similar setup to mine?
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    best quality (no going for an £800+ scaler) is JS RGB>YUV converter
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,528
    Senor Pepper

    What Input options do you have on your Projector?

    Joe
     
  9. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    PQ was okay, NTL isn't exactly a crystal clean feed to start with, I have a 3803 and at the time has a Z200E projector (1024x576).

    I now have a scaler and if I A/B the S-Video and RGB feeds from the STB there's not a major difference, though of course the RGB is better and an RGB->YUV would give you the best the box is capable of.
     
  10. Senor Pepper

    Senor Pepper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have
    1. Component in - which I have YUV to VGA from the amp.
    2. Monitor out/component in - which I have a vga to vga lead plugged in waiting for when i purchase a HTPC in the near future.
    3. Svideo input
    4. Composite input

    Should have mentioned the fact that im gonna get a HTPC earlier really. Am I not just better going for the cheaper option of the scart for now then plugging the STB into a HDTV card when I get the pc??
     
  11. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,528
    Senor Pepper

    It sounds like a SCART Breakout block (around £5.00) + a long Composite cable is on the cards then :)

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  12. Senor Pepper

    Senor Pepper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can i not just go scart to composite into the amp?

    Then I dont need to run the long lead to the projector..
     
  13. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,528
    Senor Pepper

    Only if you already have a Composite cable run from the Amp to the Projector - your HD15 (VGA) which your using for YUV via the Amp would be very unusual if it has the ability to accept a Composite signal.

    Joe
     
  14. Senor Pepper

    Senor Pepper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah as i said in an earlier post my video camera playback works fine with the jack plug to composite lead... So i dont think the amp converts the signal but it must do something as the picture is fine??
     

Share This Page

Loading...