1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help!!!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by upallnight, Nov 4, 2003.

  1. upallnight

    upallnight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,683
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    watford
    Ratings:
    +77
    has anyone ever shorted out there speaker wire
    the reason i ask is my amp has been taken to get fixed
    i replaced some speaker wire and when i tried to turn amp back it just flashed(standbye button):mad:
    i presssumed from reviews recievers where supposed to deal with this.
    i have a kenwood kff x9995d which is thx ultra
    so surely this should be fine
    any advice would be great
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +857
    Most amps/receivers have protection circuits that will shut everything down if there is a short circuit (such as a stray speaker wire touching the casing). Until the offending wire is sorted out they will just remain in standby.
     
  3. upallnight

    upallnight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,683
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    watford
    Ratings:
    +77
    thats what the manual said
    but i unpluged everthing, it tried to to for a split second.
    apparently it is in PROTECTION MODE
    well it would be nice if it came out of it now:mad:
    i am having kef tdm LCR speakers coming tommorow which really annoys me:suicide:
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +857
    Have you left it disconnected from the mains completely? Another thing to try might be a processor reset. It should say how to do it in the manual if it has that feature.
     
  5. upallnight

    upallnight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,683
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    watford
    Ratings:
    +77
    yes it had about the reset
    i tried it but nothing changed
    can hear it clicking on then shuts of again
    just hope it can be repaired soon
    it is being picked up on thurs at the shop by courier.
    i just have to hope they can fix it quick, or it starts working .
    luckily it is under warranty, but that doesn't make me feel better as i have a week of and was looking forward to trying the new speakers etc:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...