Help With XLS200

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by danmc_82, Sep 20, 2007.

  1. danmc_82

    danmc_82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Skynet Border
    Ratings:
    +1,213
    Just received my new sub, first impressions are excellent, finish is better than I'd hoped. Problem is I cant seem to get much volume out of it, I have to turn the dial up three quaters on the sub and up to +12db on my denon amp to actually hear it. Ive got it connect from sub pre-out to the (R) mono on the sub. Ive set my crossover to 80hz on sub and amp. what else am I doing wrong?
     
  2. hoppaz

    hoppaz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,916
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +225
    Check that you are definately connecting from the sub pre-out on the amp. As you have set the cut off frequency in the amp to 80hz make sure you turn the frequency dial on the sub to full and set the the volume / output on the sub to 1 or 2 o'clock and work from there.

    play a dvd as well in 5.1 surround (one with lots of explosions, low frequency stuff) to test the sub.
     
  3. danmc_82

    danmc_82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Skynet Border
    Ratings:
    +1,213
    Its def in the sub output on amp, have set crossover on sub to max and it does seem louder. compared to my old rel quake it doesnt seem no-where near as loud at a given volume, maybe the quake was just outputting high frequencys so obviously id be able to hear them better
     
  4. hoppaz

    hoppaz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,916
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +225
    Not if you connected your rel in the same way and your amp was set at 80hz -it basically sends all frequencies lower than this to the sub so it should be sending the same info to the xls200 than it was to the rel. The xls has a 275w amp so I don't know why it would sound quieter???

    You could try connecting the phono to the left input on the sub (make sure the sub is turned off at the wall when you do this).

    Also it will take time for the sub to break itself in and will sound better in time.
     
  5. danmc_82

    danmc_82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Skynet Border
    Ratings:
    +1,213
    Tried connecting, sounds the same. Like you said as it breaks in a bit it may sound better as the cone needs to losen up. Thanks for your help
     
  6. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,111
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +76
    Hi Dan
    Something is not right +12 on the amp output to the sub will be adding distortion it really needs to be around 0db. Have you got an spl meter if so run the test tone and see what sort of output you are getting from the sub and if its working ok.
    Andy.
     
  7. hoppaz

    hoppaz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,916
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +225
    Yeah definately I have just looked at the specs for a rel quake (8" driver 150w amp), the XLS should dump on those specs easily. I would do what Andy says the pink noise test tone usually gets your sub moving and will give you an idea if its giving our some serious grunt.
     
  8. danmc_82

    danmc_82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Skynet Border
    Ratings:
    +1,213
    Have got an spl meter coming next week. after having a play around with it, I think i'm starting to get decent levels out of it. placement of the sub has been changed also and sounds alot better, ill have to wait for my spl meter next week.
     
  9. danmc_82

    danmc_82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Skynet Border
    Ratings:
    +1,213
    just connected using high level input and now it sounds like a sub should, its only via the rca lead it sounds quiet
     
  10. danmc_82

    danmc_82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Skynet Border
    Ratings:
    +1,213
    Ive just tried connecting the sub straight to a cd player and it sounds excellent. Volume on sub doesnt even need to be a quater. Must have something to do with my amp I assume...

    Anyone else have any theorys they would be very welcome..
     
  11. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,111
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +76
    Could it be a faulty sub cable?.
    What type of cable are you using.
     
  12. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    I wonder if it could be that it's just good, clean bass?
    That always sound quieter than boom :)
     
  13. iainsilvester

    iainsilvester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +44
    That was exactly my thought. Given you used a sub before with presumably same amp settings and cables etc it might just be a quality thing? You might need time to get used to it?
     
  14. danmc_82

    danmc_82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Skynet Border
    Ratings:
    +1,213
    When connected to my cd player, the quality of the bass was excellent but i could hear and feel it even on a very low volume. Connected to my amp, im having to turn the volume up tp almost full to get any effect. It cant be the cable because its the same one I used to connect to my cd player. I might have to try it on an other amp to see.
     
  15. danmc_82

    danmc_82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Skynet Border
    Ratings:
    +1,213
    Just connected a Y splitter so im using the R and L inputs. the colume has increased but not loads. Is this correct?
     
  16. i240 Dan

    i240 Dan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a sugestion as I don't know a great deal about subs but am currently waiting for my XLS200 to be delivered so have been reading the online manual.

    Have you got the Low Level Filter set to IN or Out LFE. It advises that if you are running the sub from an LFE connection on your amp which it sounds like your doing then it should be set to Out LFE.

    If set to IN I'm guessing that there may be some effect by passing the signal through two processors, one in your amp and one in your sub.

    Just a guess

    Dan
     

Share This Page

Loading...