1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with wireless printer sharing

Discussion in 'Computer Peripherals & Consumables' started by Ged, Sep 9, 2005.

  1. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi folks, could do with a little info regarding a printer problem, first of all the kit.

    PC with K Corp wireless router modem and HP printer on a USB point, all works well after tortuous router set up.

    Wireless laptop with HP software on it.

    Today I have had ago at trying to make the lap top send printer docs to the PC but with no look, I keep going around in confused circles.

    From what I remember I have gone through "Network Wizards" on both PC and laptop(LT), even though they already communicated (I mean the LT could go online), tried to share the printer on both PC and LT, set the printer to some alternative ?MS where it "saves" documents. The HP has disappeared on the LT but still works on the PC.

    Previously, the laptop saved to disc for printing rather than cabling so I am not too fussed if this is too techy but I would like to know if there is something obvious missing.

    The LT was bought for my wife's MA and probably will fry me if I have cocked anything up :oops: I am just trying to save her some agro transferring stuff around.

    Bottom line, is it easy to fix, or should I just leave it well alone :rolleyes:

    Ged
     
  2. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +843
    With mine, I just got the printer working on the PC (with the printer connected directly to the PC), shared the printer (on the PC) and then "found" the printer on the laptop. And it works great. I just added the printer on the laptop using the add printer wizard (specifying the printer as \\server\printer). Another approach is to browse the network (Microsoft Windows Network) and find the printer that way. If you can't see the printer that way, it's not set up correctly on the PC.

    The only tricky part is if you are using the XP firewall, which may prevent the printer being seen by the laptop. Just configure the firewall so that file and printer sharing is an exception (on the PC). It should be safe to do this, because the router should be acting as a firewall to the outside world.

    Obviously this approach only works if the PC is switched on and running, when you print on the laptop.
     
  3. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks Mike, I will give it another go.

    Ged.
     
  4. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Can't do it, missus not pleased at my messing about.
    I may have a word with the I.T. guys at work.
     
  5. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,820
    If you have file sharing on the computers it is usually very easy to do.

    On the computer with the printer. Click on the properties and share the printer. A hand icon appears under the printer icon.

    On the laptop, load what you want to print. Then press print from the file menu. There should be a network button on the printer printer setup screen. Click on it and the printer should show itself. Select it and print.
     
  6. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Exactly as nwgarrat says, right click on the printer icon in the host machine and enable sharing for it.

    Slightly differently, on the laptop go to the Printers/Faxes settings page and "Add new Printer..." you should be able to find it on your network and add it to your list of printers.

    You need to have print sharing enabled on both machines - just file sharing isn't enough. :)
     
  7. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    there's an even easier way once you've got the two machines talking to each other and the printer shared out..


    on the laptop:

    start > run > \\pcname\printername > OK

    - the easy way of adding a network printer in Windows ;)
     
  8. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,820
    I didn't need to use add printer on my laptop. Just selecting it from the network button in print setup was enough.
     
  9. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks for the help, no luck though.
    I am sure it will be down to the various firewalls on the PC, LT and Router, I keep getting "cannot find" messages and neither has anything of relavance in the shared folders.
    The PC printer does hva a hand underneath but the LT cannot find it, therefore none are in the printer prefernces since I deleted the one I hard wired and the only other the LT "found", Windows Networking (or something like that), doesn't give a printer name to choose or wants to save doc's like a saved file.
    Anyway, thanks for the help, it has passed too much of the weekend and looks like the old system will stay.
    Thanks,
    Ged.
     
  10. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
  11. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    No, I cannot share but then I have never tried until Friday. If I click on My Network Places, View Work group, it shows the LT but I think it says something about "not allowed contact server". This makes me think they cannot get through the firewalls, there are no IP's shown when I enable "allow all on the LAN".
    This is my first attempt at networking, setting up the modem/router took ages on the support line!
    I ran the network wizard on the PC, doing the flash drive from PC to LT thing, all very confusing for me!
     
  12. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    Ged,

    you can forget about the firewall on the router, that won't be affecting anything.. :)

    It's the XP firewall causing the problem by the sounds of it..

    On both machines, Go into the firewall properties from the windows control panel, and make sure on the 'exceptions' tab that 'file & printer sharing' is checked.. :smashin:

    Once you've dome that you should be OK.
     
  13. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just checked and both are enabled, when I try to access the LT from the PC it denies access? Strang the PC can see it but not use it?

    When I View workgroup comp's on the LT it only shows The Internet and not the PC, is this right?
     
  14. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    can you ping the PC from the laptop?

    on the laptop:

    start> run > cmd

    then type: ping pcname (hit enter)


    what response does it come back with?
     
  15. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    No, workgroup computers is the place where it most definitely should show. Can you ping the different computers?

    Don't trust the networking wizard, I havn't once created a succesful working network from it and always had to revert to doing it manually and properly. :)
     
  16. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Tried the ping and it says not recognizes as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
    I take it the computer name is the one I called it for networking and not the original one?
     
  17. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Yes, you need to ping the name of the computer that you're trying to contact. I usually use the IP address but it shouldn't make any difference.

    So from my computer (192.168.2.3) to my router (192.168.2.1) which is effectively a computer I type ping 192.168.2.1 and get this result:


    C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 2ms



    I could equally ping another computer called mesh1 whose IP address is 192.168.2.2 by calling:
    ping 192.168.2.2
    ping mesh1
     
  18. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Oh, this is a bit beyond me!
     
  19. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    it's easy... try giving us some details and we'll be able to help more...


    what did you call the PC? :)
     
  20. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have just written down the system details of the PC and LT, how do I find the IP address and that of the Router?
    The LT cannot view workgroup computers, it says MShome is ot accesible, no sign of the PC wheras the PC shows both the PC, LT and the internet, do I need to add the PC to the LT some how?
     
  21. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    start > run > cmd > Ok

    then type ipconfig and hit enter


    you'll see the IP address (the PC) and the Default Gateway address (which is the router)
     
  22. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks for the help, decided to call it a day, I've had enough now and think I shall just plug it into the printer when required.
     

Share This Page

Loading...