1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with what to purchase etc?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by anticlaus105, Nov 11, 2004.

1. anticlaus105

anticlaus105

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've been reading this forum for a few days and now it's time to post. Please excuse me as I am a complete novice.

I'm looking to purchase a complete home cinema system starting from scratch. I want to be able to link the screen to my PC about 4m away to play movies, games etc directly off it. I also have Sky+. I have no other equipment except an old scan dvd player. Money is not too much of an object as long as what I get is future proof for a few years.

Prior to finding this forum all my research was from home cinema magazines and on this basis I ended up with this shortlist of screens: Philips 32pf9986, Sony kde-p37xs1 and pioneer pdp-434hde (Panny has to low a res for PC). I then found the pioneer has been superseded by the 435xde but not to glowing acclaim. Other factors influencing me are talk of screens "buzzing" e.g. 434 and various connections required e.g. HDMI to be "future proof". With a plasma I'm worried about screen burn when using my PC. It has been mentioned that TV channels displaying constant logo can do this also. Is this a big effect and how long can the screen stay idle before it gets damaged?

Matters became more muddled when reading that separates are a better way to go. I am now inclined towards the pioneer PDP-43MXE1. Is this the same screen as the 435xde? And if so can some of the mentioned limitations of this model (e.g. poor TV/Sky pq) be reduced by selecting equipment that performs a better job than the xde media box. Or are these qualms native to the actual screen? Is there a significant drop in pq/performance if I go for a 50in screen?