Help with Tritton AX Pro Gaming Headset

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Moldiver, Dec 26, 2011.

  1. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    I've setup my head set and i am getting sound but when i go to the sound devices and click configure on the Trittons i can only see "Stereo".

    I have installed the mobo sound drivers and it is connected via optical cable, any ideas on how i can get this to change to 5.1

    I am only using onboard sound via my Asus p6x58d-e.

    Been testing it out and the the master volume doesn't seem to work and the mute button doesn't mute the sound but the hissing stops, there is another volume switch on the controller that works and I think it comes down to the fact it's not set up for 5.1 and the master volume knob and mute button are for 5.1.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  2. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    Some boards only output stereo though optic,use the coloured phono plugs to get 5.1....
     
  3. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    Any difference in quality, also doesn't optical do 5.1?
     
  4. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    Normally optic(amps,blu-ray players,xbox ect)is always 5.1 but some pc boards are only stereo when using optic,i don't know why.
    As i say can you use the coloured phono plugs as i had the pc trittons and they worked fantastic,but i had two sets and the mic broke on both :(.
     
  5. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    I've got everything hooked up to my Harman Kardon AV receiver think i could shove the optical in to that and still get the pc to output the sound?
     
  6. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    Yes you will get sound but the pc will output stereo to the amp then stereo to the headphones.
    This is all providing the pc board only outputs stereo from the optic.Do you have a sound card?.
     
  7. mcnoiserdc

    mcnoiserdc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Faro, Portugal
    Ratings:
    +99
    That board may have 5.1, you should go to sound settings at set it to output to digital optical and 5.1
     
  8. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    Not 100% but some boards do 5.1/7.1 HDMI 5.1 analogue and stereo optic.
     
  9. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    i've looked at the Asus website and it says this which to me looks like i should be getting 5.1 via optical.

    "Audio
    Realtek® ALC889 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
    - Supports : Jack-detection, Multi-streaming, Front Panel Jack-retasking
    Audio Feature :
    - Blu-ray audio layer Content Protection
    - DTS Surround Sensation UltraPC
    - Coaxial and Optical S/PDIF out ports at back panel"


    "ASUS Crystal Sound
    DTS Surround Sensation UltraPC

    DTS Surround Sensation UltraPC delivers exceptional 5.1 surround experience through the most common PC audio setups - your existing stereo speakers or headphones. In addition to virtual surround, “Bass enhancement” provides stronger low frequency bass sound, and “Voice clarification” provides clear human dialogue even with loud background sound. With these technologies, you may experience a better home-theater audio with ease."
     
  10. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    Don't know mate :(
    I did google but could not find a clear answer....
     
  11. MikeKay1976

    MikeKay1976
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    7,917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,758
    the phono plugs work fine - albeit much quieter than optical (i have the sharkoon xtatic = same hardware different design.

    bladeripper your comment on the mic is interesting, as my sharkoon headset has just had its 2nd mic fail on them in 11 months. really is there that much to go wrong in a blooming mic???

    my p8p67 board does 5.1 for dvd s etc on optical but in game its only pro-logic over optical.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  12. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    My board will not output 5.1 for films through optic,i would have to use hdmi(don't use gaming rig for films)you need your board to have dolby digital live for 5.1 in games through optic which most boards don't have so you need a sound card that supports this.
    The mics are crap,i gave up and bought the px5 and use bluetooth...:smashin:
    EDIT HDMI on my gpu...
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  13. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    Thanks for the help, used the analogue adapter that came with the headphone and it works in 5.1 but there is a lot of interference when quiet, any idea what this is?
     
  14. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    There is a lot of interference when quiet.

    You said it yourself: Interference.

    With the amount of electronics on the motherboard, are you surprised that there is interference? I would be surprised to not hear interference ;)

    If you want to rid yourself of the buzzes and clicks, you need to use:

    1) Optical output.
    2) [A good] Internal Soundcard.
    3) External USB soundcard.

    I use the ASUS Xonar DX (£50 from PC World), and it is relatively 'dark' in terms of interference - I've only heard a few 'buzz' noises - Plus it has optical :)

    I'm using my new Xmas Beyerdynamic DT770s and it's plugged into the standard 'stereo' jack and I use virtual surround. It's awesome!
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  15. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    New sound card tomorrow it is, I've been toying with the idea for months and trawled through many threads on wether it's better to have a sound card for gaming or use the gfx card hdmi audio. Gonna check pc world as Kustom pcs which s my local only has a limited stock.
     
  16. mcnoiserdc

    mcnoiserdc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Faro, Portugal
    Ratings:
    +99
    make sure you get a dolby digital 5.1 or plus capable to make your headset sing at its full potential.
     
  17. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    Just make sure it does D/D live for gaming....:smashin:
     
  18. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    With optical I have always been used to the port with the flap and the red light, I notice the sonar has spidif but I see no optical port, I've saw this before but never looked into it. Is it just the same but you use an adapter?
     
  19. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    Looking at these three cards from pc world.

    http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/asus-xonar-dx-7-1-channel-pci-e-sound-card-07929964-pdt.html

    http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/creat...t.html?intcmpid=display~RR~Computing~01991902

    http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/creat...t.html?intcmpid=display~RR~Computing~01992120

    And maybe even this one

    http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/asus-xonar-d2x-7-1-channel-pci-e-sound-card-07908209-pdt.html

    For ages I've just used the audio from my nvidia card via hdmi to my receiver, for movies on my pc would I continue to use hdmi and for games use the soundcard? Got my Blu rays ripped but no HD soundtracks as they take up too much space.
     
  20. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    From watching some reviews I get the feeling I might be wasting some cash if I go for a High end card as my receiver does all the Dolby/DTS HD for movies and I will be using it for watching them so don't see the point in buying a card at £90 that has a Dolby decoder on it when I guess games won't be using anything like that.
     
  21. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,064
    I when buying my soundcard as was little sceptical of how much better it'd be than onboard went for a cheap Xonar DG and was going to get better one but after using it for couple months im not even gonna bother the sounds that good. :)
    Even with my Fairly decent Rotel/Mission hifi and Senn HD650's phones it's glorious.
    Untill come into some cash im more than happy with it, Perhaps try one for yourself before spending 2-5x the money?
     
  22. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    Asia xonar DX for 50 bucks it is.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  23. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    I'd have to say that the Xonar DX is superb.... You really can't & won't regret it. And the difference between the onboard and the soundcard is night-and-day. Especially when it comes to 5.1 virtualisation!

    My Shure's were lit-up with the DX and they make my Beyers sing even better - And that doubles for the 5.1 effects. They're insanely good for that.

    The Realtek ALC 892 on my mobo (Asus P8Z68-V PRO) is the highest quality onboard chip that Realtek produce, and don't get me wrong, I don't get much interference from it, and it does sound great [exceptionally smooth and laid-back], but it can't do what the Xonar can do... And the Xonar EQ makes the £50 worth it alone, it allows you to fine tune the audio to your desire.

    Btw, you aren't missing out on much if you don't get the D2X....

    D2X vs DX:

    • D2X is twice the size of the DX (No idea why, maybe because it does DTS?).
    • They use the same audio chip (AV100/AV200 - DX/D2X), made by C-Media. Except that the D2X uses the 'higher quality' C-Media Oxygen HD audio processor chip; they are sorted at a 'quality inspection' stage of the production.
    • The DX uses only Cirrus Logic DAC/ADCs. The D2X uses a single BurrBrown DAC & uses a slightly higher quality ADC (Cirrus Logic) than the DX.
    • The D2X supports DTS, the DX doesn't. So unless you have an exceptional 7.1 DTS enabled speaker-system, I doubt you'd ever need the D2X.

    I think it depends on how big your case and your wallet is, to be honest.. The Xonar DX blows me away every time I load up MediaMonkey and especially a really immersive game.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  24. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    Thanks from reading that the DX does everything I need for games and for movies I can just use my HK AV Receiver to get DTS etc, make sense?

    Can also set some new activities on my Logitech 1100 so it's just the click of a button between using hdmi and optical.
     
  25. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    Installed and working, sounds great. picked one up from town as pc world had none in stock. Went into pc world on way home and they had everything lol. If i had went there guranteed i would have came home with something more shiny.

    Prolly wouldnt have fit in my case as this is a snug fit above the GTX 580.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  26. Dave2

    Dave2
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,962
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +529
    I sent mine back as i didnt like them and was lacking DTS but that was not the main problem :( I just thought the volume level was not very good when using with standalone blu-ray player and thought the static noise when wuiet was too much.

    Most onboard cards will do 5.1 via optical , you just need to put it via passthough mode e.g ac3filter just switch to passthough.

    Im hoping some good true 5.1/7.1 headphones come out with dts support too.
     
  27. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    See I didn't need any of the dts stuff as my av receiver is more than capable of handling all standard and hd soundtracks on movies.
     
  28. Dave2

    Dave2
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,962
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +529
    i have a reciever that decodes DTS to it via both analouge or optical but just couldnt rate them very good and still would have prefered dts built into its own decoder!

    Main gripe was the static noise when silent.

    if i had to rate them it would be 7 out of 10, good sound but some draw backs.
     
  29. Moldiver

    Moldiver
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sorn
    Ratings:
    +118
    How did you get it to work via av receiver and what systems worked that way?
     
  30. Dave2

    Dave2
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,962
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +529
    i have a creative ddts 100 which is a handy little thing as it takes the analouge jack straight from the headphones or you can hook it upto the decoder same way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice