help with tannoy efx5.1 setup

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by nisnos, Nov 7, 2005.

  1. nisnos

    nisnos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +69
    hi

    i have a yamaha rxsl80s AV reciever and amp and the aforementioned speakers

    i read this

    "The subwoofer module unboxed easily enough. It does not feature a variable crossover, so don't bother looking for one! This sub is matched to the Tannoy system and is meant to pick up frequencies below 140Hz, where I'd recommend you set the receiver crossover if possible. One thing to note, if you have a Yamaha receiver, notorious for its fixed 90 Hz bass management crossover, you'll find that much of the sound between 90 and 140 Hz may be taking a vacation from your system. To get around this, you may want to set your main speakers to 'large' and use the speaker level inputs of the subwoofer to provide the appropriate cross-over for the subwoofer"

    how do i do this or does anyone have a good setup.

    many thanks

    dave
     
  2. swartzy

    swartzy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,635
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +725
    Hi nisnos,
    to set your main speakers to large you normally have to access via your setup menu on your yamaha remote (check your manual) when you press the menu button you have a series of options shown up either on your front display of the amp or on-screen depending on whether you have this option.....Normally to set speakers to large you have to go into a menu called Speaker Set then goto Front then press on enter button on remote and you will see this changing from SMALL---LARGE----NONE set it at large then press the arrow keys to get you back out of the menu....

    (I am going with my experience of my Yamaha AX2 amp as most Yamha amps are similar) if in doubt check the procedure in your manual as to speaker settings....


    The speaker level inputs on the sub just simply means the red and black connectors on the sub similar to your other speakers in your set up.....Follow the instructions on your subwoofer manual to run speaker wire from your sub to your front two speakers....


    Hoping I haven't confused you totally....lmk how you get on


    Regards
    swartzy
     
  3. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    1. Run your left and right speaker outputs from the amp to the inputs on the sub.
    2. Run the the outputs of the sub to your left and right speakers.
    3. Set the left and right speakers to large in the amp setup.
    4. Tell the amp there is no sub.
    5. There may be an option to 'direct LFE to the front left and right'. Take this option if available.

    The same as above essentially but a little simpler to comprehend...
     
  4. nisnos

    nisnos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +69
    many thanks ill do that tonight
     
  5. nisnos

    nisnos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +69
    right ive done that but i have the option to adjust the crossover frequency from 40hz to 200hz along with the phase of the subwoofer

    is there anything here for me to adjust please.

    thanks
     
  6. nisnos

    nisnos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +69
    oh also how about the LFE level setting? -20db to 0 db

    sorry for being a bit numb but its all quite new to me.
     
  7. swartzy

    swartzy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,635
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +725
    Hi nisnos,
    I have LFE settings set to -6db and crossover frequency at 80 hz


    swartzy :thumbsup:
     
  8. nisnos

    nisnos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +69
    hi swartzy

    i have 2 settings for the LFE SP and HP which one should i fiddle with


    thanks so far

    nisnos
     
  9. swartzy

    swartzy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,635
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +725
    think the SP is for the speakers so try and change that......HP is for Headphones

    ;)
     
  10. nisnos

    nisnos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +69
    er

    DOH!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sorry for that its been a long night.

    thanks for all your help

    dave
     
  11. swartzy

    swartzy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,635
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +725
    no worries Dave.......hope you enjoy your new amp and speakers

    Good Luck

    swartzy :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...