Help With Sound

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by SeeleyBooth, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. SeeleyBooth

    SeeleyBooth
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +470
    hi guys got a Pioneer BDP-140 but i cant get it bitstream correctly ive selected bitstream in Player setup but when i play a disc ie Thor it will only do DTS-5.1 no master nor no 7.1


    my amp is a onkyo TX-SR607


    i have Phoned Pioneer Tech Support who dont know what could be wrong they are going to try and replicate the problem
     
  2. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,799
    have you selected in the film to do 7.1.
     
  3. SeeleyBooth

    SeeleyBooth
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +470
    yes scott i have the player wont bitstream DTS MA or True-HD of any kind ie 5.1 or 7.1


    example it takes a DTS-HD MA 5.1 tracks and makes it dts 5.1
     
  4. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,799
    have you turned “BD Audio MIX Setting” to “Off”
     
  5. SeeleyBooth

    SeeleyBooth
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +470
    yes scott i have
     
  6. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,799
    tried different hdmi cable,
     
  7. SeeleyBooth

    SeeleyBooth
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +470
    yes scott
     
  8. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,799
    player on the latest firmware.
     
  9. SeeleyBooth

    SeeleyBooth
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +470
    also yes scott it is
     
  10. Bald Monkey

    Bald Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,084
    Not sure about your particular Onkyo receiver but have you checked the audio settings on it? HDMI Audio OUT should be set to OFF or it will auto downmix all audio.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  11. SeeleyBooth

    SeeleyBooth
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +470
    on what mate the player or Amp if i do it on the player it cuts all sounds altogether
     
  12. Bald Monkey

    Bald Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,084

    On your amp/receiver. It's been a while but I think it's under the hardware / miscallaneous settings. "HDMI Audio out".

    It sets the Onkyo to send audio via the HDMI out, to a TV for example. However it downsamples the HD audio to do so to normal DTS etc.. so if this setting is not set to OFF, you will not get HD Audio.. regardless of if you are using the HDMI out for audio or just video.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice