1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with sound on MSI Mobo

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Timh, Jul 5, 2002.

  1. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Hi all

    Help my head hurts! I have just fitted a new Motherboard, The MSI KT3 Ultra with onboard sound, my problem is I cannot load the drivers to operate the sound card, When I try I get an error message " 0x80070725 Description: incompatible version of the RPC Stub" I am running Windows 98.
    I do keep removing the sound drivers in device maneger but I keep getting the same error message.
    I also tried to update to the latest software from the MSI website, but strangly their update software does not cover win98 :( their forum is also down for an upgrade.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. wolfe

    wolfe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you get a disk with the Mobo?
    You may find the drivers on there....
    Reinstalling Win98...or better still installing XP should sort the error message...You could try to find the error by diggin in the registry but its probably quicker to do a re-install if you aren't happy in the registry.

    Microsoft have a patch that "may" fix this...go to...
    http://download.microsoft.com/download/msninvestor/Patch/1.0/WIN98/EN-US/mcrepair.EXE
     
  3. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Hi Wolfe

    The patch did not help, I think I will reload win98 and see what happens, I may be getting hold of XP soon, I hope.

    I also have a AMD Athlon XP1800+ 1.533 Ghz 266 MHz bus processor, I am not sure what to set the CPU FSB Clock to, its set to 100Mhz by default and it goes from 100 to 220 Mhz.
    I guess I should set it to 220 :confused:

    Thanks for the help.
     
  4. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, no, no, no, no!!!!!!!!!

    The CPU frequency is governed by the FSB (front side bus) speed x multipler.

    An unlocked Athlon XP1800+ has a locked multiplier of 11.5.

    So FSB x Multiplier = CPU speed.
    220 x 11.5 = 2530Hz.

    The FSB should be 133

    Hence, 133x11.5=1530Hz.

    You increase the FSB, your CPU runs faster, but within limits, & with a need for extra cooling.

    So for your XP1800+, the FSB is 133 .

    If you want to "overclock" your CPU, let me know.

    Don't know about the drivers, but usually they come with the MB driver disc.

    You shouldn't have to reinstall 98.

    Chat soon, assuming you didn't try to run @ 220FSB, & still have interner access.
     
  5. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Hi Kramer

    :blush: good job I didn't up the CPU FSB Clock then. Thanks for the info I will change it to 133 when I have finished here.
    I have sorted the sound out now, BUT I have fried my Western Digital 20gb hard drive :eek: I thing maybe I have formated it to many times. I am now running an old 1.7gb drive, no Medal of Honour tonight then:(
    Is there a limit to how many times a hard drive can be formatted? I must get XP no more formatting then... hopefully.
    Right wheres that link for powerstrip ;)

    Thanks again
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,886
    I've never known there to be a limit on how many times you can format a hard disk.
    Incidentally - I wouldn't stick to Windows 98 - my minimum would be 98SE - but preferably XP
     
  7. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    John

    I should have said, I am using 98SE, but hopefully I will soon be able to upgrade to XP.
     
  8. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,886
    I've had the best results doing a clean install of XP - upgrades to existing systems always seem to either produce problems or run slower than a clean install. I believe it's possible to do a clean install even when using an upgrade version of XP - you will need to insert the original 98SE disk during installation just to confirm you have a valid copy.
     
  9. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Thanks for the info John, I think I will go for the full version of XP for my new hard drive, I have gone for a Seagate Barracuda 80GB only £69 at Komplett. Should be nice and quiet :)
     
  10. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,886
    It sure is - I've got one myself
     
  11. feet14

    feet14
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    But don't use Windows ME! It manages to crash with only Outlook Express running straight after windows loads. 98SE is fairly stable from my experience.
     

Share This Page

Loading...