1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP WITH Sony HS50

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by activeuk, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. activeuk

    activeuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2
    I should be getting a Sony HS50 the week end it will be used just for my pc what leads will i need to get to make it work with my pc
     
  2. Neelix

    Neelix
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Either a VGA or DVi to HDMI if your graphics card supports it.
     
  3. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,881
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Personally I wouldn't. I would get a VGA to VGA lead for pixel mapping and correct aspect ratio. If you want to use the DVI on the graphics, just use the converter that comes with most screens and cards
     
  4. hebawom

    hebawom
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Matlock
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a recommended maximum lead length for VGA? Because I read there were problems when using long (10m+) digital leads, is this the same with VGA?
    I think I'd need a 15m VGA cable.
     
  5. Neelix

    Neelix
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you use the DVI connection and then add the VGA adaptor do you still get 1:1 pixel mapping?
     
  6. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Long VGA leads are fine..... I don't have any problems running a 15m one.

    The overscan issue on DVI should be the same regardless of using a vga connector - think about it.... the projector processing the output for the DVI port.


    S.
     
  7. hebawom

    hebawom
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Matlock
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. SimonInd

    SimonInd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    A nice cheap beige cable will do fine, I ran a 15m one to my AE100 for years and got an excellent picture. I then re-used the same cable when I upgraded to a BenQ 8700. There was a small difference in picture quality when I switched from this to a 7.5m Lindy DVI-D cable but I'm sure that's down to the signal format rather than the cable....

    Cheers

    Simon
     
  9. Ray

    Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    What's the issue with using the DVi connection ? :confused:
     
  10. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,881
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    There is no issue with using DVI on the graphics card. There is no DVI on the HS50, only HDMI. Its the HDMI input on the projector that has the issue.
     
  11. Yaka

    Yaka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,682
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +115
    that HDMI problem is the opnly thing stoping me from getting the HS50, as i have a dual DVI gfx carg :rolleyes:
     
  12. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,881
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Then you are wasting valuable watching time. My card is also DVI, but the DVI/VGA adapter that comes with most cards, and TFT screens, is plugged into the DVI socket, and your VGa to VGA is plugged into this.

    Its what I use and is perfect :)
     
  13. Ray

    Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    Sorry I copied the wrong quote in previous msg. Does the quote above infer that there is a pixel mapping/aspect ratio issue if you use DVI-HDMI ? :confused:

    I'm getting a PJ soon and want to go down the HCPC route eventually. I assumed DVI-HDMI was the way to go.

    Cheers

    Ray :)
     
  14. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,464
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,114
    It appears to be an issue with the HS50, but that's not the case with most other pjs. Even so, as Urban T has already said, the differences between the two are negligable from the seating position. It's only up close that you may see the extra noise in the image from the analogue connection..

    Gary.
     
  15. Yaka

    Yaka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,682
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +115
    sorry to to gate crash this thread.

    one more thing that is playing on my mind is that my both of my pcs will be placed on desk with. one of them i am hoping to use as HTPC the other for my gaming/work stuff. above the desk i am hoping to have a PJ screen and when the kids are watching toy story/shrek/montsters inc etc and i am using the pc will it affect the pic quality much? all light will be off but the dell 2001fp tft screens i have light up the place preety good.
     
  16. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,464
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,114
    It will make some difference (probably more if the walls are white), but I doubt the kids will notice. :)

    You won't hear "Hay Dad, the ANSI just took a hit - TURN IT OFF!!" :D

    Gary.
     
  17. Yaka

    Yaka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,682
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +115
  18. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,464
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,114
    It'll notice during darker scenes more, as you'll notice the light from the LCD reflecting of of the screen if it's facing it, or from reflections off of other objects, but I doubt the kids will notice or care.

    If it's on when you're watching, and it bothers you, you can always cover it up. Idealy you want full light control in the room to extract the best from the projected image.

    Gary.
     
  19. Yaka

    Yaka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,682
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +115
    dool thanks mate
     

Share This Page

Loading...