Help with setting up PS3 and PSP remote play

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by KhalJimbo, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. KhalJimbo

    KhalJimbo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Vaes Dothrak
    Ratings:
    +789
    Hi Guys

    I ahev set up my PSP and my PS3 for remote play but everytime I go into the remote play setting on my PSP I tell it to connect directly to the PS3 and it always tells me that there is a network time out.

    Same thing happens if I try connect through my LAN.

    Any ideas on how to set this up?

    Thanks
     
  2. tsjarlie

    tsjarlie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
  3. KhalJimbo

    KhalJimbo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Vaes Dothrak
    Ratings:
    +789
    Thanks dude,

    There seem to be alot more info there than just following the on screen instructions on the PSP and PS3, thanks alot dude
     
  4. tsjarlie

    tsjarlie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    No problem, I had a couple of problems with remoteplay myself so am happy to pass on anything I've learnt.
     
  5. KhalJimbo

    KhalJimbo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Vaes Dothrak
    Ratings:
    +789
    Thanks

    I seem to have gotten it working now, but what kind of things can I do with it, it doesnt really seem to let me do anything more than browse the menu system, can i intergrate this into some games somehow?
     
  6. kendoll

    kendoll
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +551
    For one, you can watch movies, listen to music, and view photos on your PSP that are actually stored on the PS3 (both on your local network, and over t'internet).
     
  7. KhalJimbo

    KhalJimbo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Vaes Dothrak
    Ratings:
    +789
    cool anything else?
     
  8. kendoll

    kendoll
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +551
    You can use your PSP to turn on your PS3 and access the PS3 PSN Store and kick off downloads, etc (say, from work)

    Also, there was talk (not sure if it has eventuated yet) that there will be parts of PS3 games that can be downloaded for completion on your PSP.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2009
  9. KhalJimbo

    KhalJimbo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Vaes Dothrak
    Ratings:
    +789
    Cool, I also heard somewhere that you can use your psp to display your map while you are playing the game
     
  10. Deleted member 92943

    Deleted member 92943
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure about using it as a map.

    There were early remote demos of the PSP being used a wing mirror for the Grand Tourismo games.

    Resistance 2 and the new Resistance Retribution on PSP will take the connectivity a step further too. If you have both games, connect them up and R2 Auto boosts your character on PSP and changes all the menus ect.

    If you have PlayTV you and watch TV and recorded shows wirelessly anywhere in a wifi zone which is a really cool feature.

    Personally, i'd like some more additions to the Remote Play as it may convince me to get a PSP again. Maybe Having 'Home' run on PSP would be cool
     
  11. KhalJimbo

    KhalJimbo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Vaes Dothrak
    Ratings:
    +789
    I was under the impression that its like a terminal services session onto our PS3 so if a game is in your PS3 you can stream it onto your PSP so essintially the PS3 is doing all the work and all the PSP is doing is sending clicks back to the PS3.

    That would be cool to have it as wing mirror in GT5 and would be really cool if you could run home on it too.
     
  12. Deleted member 92943

    Deleted member 92943
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    only a few games support the streaming aspect. The PS3 Lego games work as does LAIR and a few PSN titles but i think that's it
     
  13. KhalJimbo

    KhalJimbo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Vaes Dothrak
    Ratings:
    +789
    Cool, would be really cool if they brought it out on more of the games
     
  14. Monkeypony

    Monkeypony
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +22
    Remote play is a broken feature. It'll work fine for just about anyone for connecting directly to your PS3s network or even via your own wireless internet. But why would you want to do that? you're at home, just use your PS3 on a nice big screen.

    What you want remote play for is to access your PS3 while you are away from home and sadly it seems to be pot luck as to whether this will actually work or not. Some people seem to have managed it but they seem to be int he minority.

    I've tried all the static ip setting, port forwarding and DMZ setup as advised by various people but it still WONT WORK (as is the case for most).

    Dont buy a PSP for remote play. You'll probably be disappointed :thumbsdow
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2009
  15. KhalJimbo

    KhalJimbo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Vaes Dothrak
    Ratings:
    +789
    I have had mine for a while and quite enjoy it, I take it with me when I go visit my folks for a bit of gameplay at night and things like that and when I travell its a fun companion, but hardly ever use it when at home though.

    I just thought remote play would be quite a cool gadget to use to connect to your PS3 when you are away from home to kick off downloads and things but have read it can be quite tricky to set up !! but have managed fine connecting directly to the PS3
     

Share This Page

Loading...