Question Help with sending Audio through PC HDMI to Reciever

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Bosee, May 15, 2016.

  1. Bosee

    Bosee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    bristol
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hello There,

    I am having a great deal of troubble figuring out how to send 5.1 surround sound through my motherboards HDMI to my Yamaha AV Reciever. Before I had audio coming out from my monitor's speakers so sending audio through HDMI worked then but now in 'playback devices' hdmi doesn't show up :/ Any help would be greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,406
    If you right click in the empty space in playback devices you should be able to toggle whether disabled and disconnected devices are shown.

    Does HDMI show up with both of them enabled?
     
  3. Bosee

    Bosee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    bristol
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, but shows up as not being plugged in.
     
  4. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,406
    Your receiver has an HDMI input, you're not using a converter of any sort?

    Can you switch your receiver to the HDMI input and see if it shows up on the computer then?
     
  5. Bosee

    Bosee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    bristol
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sorry for not being very clear, the pc is connected to one of the HDMI in ports on the back of my reciever. I have no trouble getting a picture through it, just when I try to send sound through the hdmi, it shows as not connected (on my computer) when it clearly is
     
  6. Bosee

    Bosee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    bristol
    Ratings:
    +3
    See, 'G247HYU was the name of my monitor that I use (I used this to send audio through the hdmi to my monitor so it could play sound) so theoretically the amp should replace that as that is what is now between my monitor and PC.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice