Help with re-aligning Sky Dish

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Gliese 581c, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +572
    Due to the lovely weather were having in Scotland these days, my sky dish is being moved with the wind. I've had them out twice to re-align it, but now there's only so many times I can threaten to cancel and they always try and charge me for the guy to come out and re-align it, so I thought this may be easier to just do myself.

    What do I need exactly ? I realise I need a meter, but which one would be best and any instruction on how to do/use it would be great.
     
  2. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    If your dish keeps moving in the wind, I would suggest it hasn't been installed correctly in the first place.

    My Zone 2 dish (such as you probably have) is rock solid, as is my 80cm steerable dish.

    They are in a very exposed position, overlooking the English Channel, where we had Storm Force 10 winds yesterday.

    Get Sky back to do a proper job!
     
  3. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +572
    Let's say that is true, getting them to admit there was an issue with the install would be a no go, and getting them out to repair something they wont admit to will also be a no go.

    Back to my original post.
     
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    It's their responsibility, and the complaints form at MySky is the way to get them to honour it.
     
  5. Heinz

    Heinz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earle Colne, Colchester
    Ratings:
    +15
    If you're determined to risk your own well-being by doing it yourself, Dave Sullivan's website is probably best for free and accurate (no pun intended) advice.
     
  6. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +51
    Aiming a sat dish, see attachment:-

    Note: You can probably ignore reference to the LNB adjustment as it is unlikely that it would have moved in the wind.

    Good luck
    Vin Blanc
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  7. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +572
    Thanks.

    Thanks.

    Yeah we experienced the same wind in Glasgow, I think its the huge gusts thats doing the damage. Yep, my picture now just breaks up, my signal strength is 3/4 full, but pic quality just has a tiny little bit showing in the graph. I'd say a good few channels apprear but then they break up instantly, or jump to no signal received. Sky ran tests and said the signal from them to us was perfect.

    I don't think they are supposed to do the re-alignment for free no, but when I'm paying £70pm to them and have been for a very long time, I don't think its that much to ask they come and re-align it. I'm not asking for a new box or cheaper sky, just to re-align my dish. I've had them out before and normally a 'I'm leaving then' does the trick and they come out and fix for free.

    I'm gonna grab one of the meters from ebay and give it a go myself.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  8. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +51
    Of the two, signal quality is the most important and should show about 50% minimum reading.

    Vin Blanc
     
  9. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    We've heard that one before, along with boosting the signal from the satellite! :facepalm:
     
  10. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +572
    Thanks Vin, when I do go out for a 'play' I'll aim for that.

    I think Sky basically confirmed what I said about signal strength (3/4 full). That the signal is actually getting to the receiver ok.
     
  11. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    If the installer did the tests on site, then fair enough.

    I read your post as meaning they told you this over the telephone and some of the excuses they come up with defy belief!

    But I can't stress enough that it is Sky's responsibility to get your system working and you shouldn't have to risk life and limb! :nono:
     
  12. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    It is not a broadcast issue.
    The signal to everyone is perfect and the telephone agents couldn't test anything to find out, even if it wasn't.
    Whoever's going round telling people that needs to learn a lot more about communications satellites.
    That's very different from them saying "the signal from them to us was perfect".


    As T G says, and implies, we've heard this all before from Sky, and it's still all a load of nonsense.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  13. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    I know you know that - that's why you write "supposed" - i posted for people who didn't know that!
    Sky are meant to provide a service that needs a functioning dish - they should provide that, as part of the service.
     
  14. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,558
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,327
    Considering you actually own all the equipment including the dish etc it is your responsibility to maintain and arrange for repair of that if necessary. Sky cannot in the current weather conditions be responsible for alignment etc of dishes providing that the initial installation was of a sufficient quality. Dish manufacturers will only warrant dishes and fixings for gusts up to 75 to 80m.p.h. unless you pay for the very high quality ones which are warranted up to 100 m.p.h.
     
  15. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    What they should imho do and what they do do are, naturally, different things.
     
  16. MartinPickering

    MartinPickering
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greek Island
    Ratings:
    +507
    The TELEVES FSM450 METER 5" COLOUR TFT MPEG SPECTRUM at £1800 is pretty hard to beat and comes with an instruction book. Is that what you mean by "best"?
     
  17. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Whatever the legal niceties, the bottom line is that without a properly aligned dish, Sky can't charge a subscription and so would lose possibly over £1,000 per annum.

    I really don't think they'd refuse to send round one of their installers for what could be a 5 minute job!
     
  18. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    And if not as part of the service to the customer then as a way of maintaining their income from him, as T G concisely explains it.:thumbsup:
     
  19. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +572
    I asked for that, I should have said easiest and cheapest and one that works fine.
     
  20. MartinPickering

    MartinPickering
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greek Island
    Ratings:
    +507
    Horizon do a satmeter at around £240. That's about the cheapest "professional" meter. Below that there's a big price jump down to around a tenner or less, which will get you a meter that detects a signal, but not much else. It won't tell you which signal/satellite or measure "BER" etc.
     
  21. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +51

    http://www.satcure.com/tech/satmeter.htm

    The meter depicted in the above link should be perfectly adequate for the job. Detailed instructions on how to use it are in the attachment to my previous post (No. 6) to this thread.

    Vin Blanc
     
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  22. digibobwigan

    digibobwigan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    wigan
    Ratings:
    +1
    there is also an ap for android phones that you can download giving the orbital position of all the satellites you can use the phone screen to see if there is any blockage between you and the satellite ,its called dishpointer pro small fee for app but very useful if you want to no were hotbird is etc or the sky satellites
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice