Help with Progressive Scan setup

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by esw2002, Aug 4, 2002.

  1. esw2002

    esw2002
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an hitachi c36wf810n tv and a harman kardon dvd 25 dvd player.When I switch the tv and dvd to prog scan the picture goes crazy and you cannot make anything out on the screen.I am using an rgb scart and region 1 dvd`s.Any advice will be gratefully accepted.I am slowly learning this home cinema game.
     
  2. tman

    tman
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,087
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +174
    Well, I'm nowhere near as qualified in this as some other people, and I may be corrected, but I thought progressive scan only worked over component video connections (3 x phono). If your DVD player has these outputs, and your TV has the inputs, try connecting them up using this method.

    Tony
     
  3. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Progressive scan doesn't work through the horrible SCART. Your hitachi has no method of getting a PS into it, you must feed it with an interlaced signal. The tv will then do its own ‘poor’ cut down ps version. The only tvs that take a ps signal here in the UK are the new Toshiba stratas via conponent, a new panny WITH COMPONENT INPUTS :), and RGBGV in a VGA input on Loewes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice