1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with Progressive Scan setup

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by esw2002, Aug 4, 2002.

  1. esw2002

    esw2002
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an hitachi c36wf810n tv and a harman kardon dvd 25 dvd player.When I switch the tv and dvd to prog scan the picture goes crazy and you cannot make anything out on the screen.I am using an rgb scart and region 1 dvd`s.Any advice will be gratefully accepted.I am slowly learning this home cinema game.
     
  2. tman

    tman
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    980
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +103
    Well, I'm nowhere near as qualified in this as some other people, and I may be corrected, but I thought progressive scan only worked over component video connections (3 x phono). If your DVD player has these outputs, and your TV has the inputs, try connecting them up using this method.

    Tony
     
  3. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Progressive scan doesn't work through the horrible SCART. Your hitachi has no method of getting a PS into it, you must feed it with an interlaced signal. The tv will then do its own ‘poor’ cut down ps version. The only tvs that take a ps signal here in the UK are the new Toshiba stratas via conponent, a new panny WITH COMPONENT INPUTS :), and RGBGV in a VGA input on Loewes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...