Help with Panasonic DMR-BWT850EB

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by kbugsy, Apr 20, 2016.

Tags:
  1. kbugsy

    kbugsy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    So I have just brought a Panasonic DMR-BWT850EB to replace an ageing Sony unit and oh boy it’s a real step up.


    As I am getting to grips with it I have a couple of questions I am hoping some of the members on here can help me with.


    First what Blu-Ray blank discs should I buy?


    Also what recording mode should I use when recording to Blu-Ray discs, the machine can convert the Direct Recording’s to HG, HX, HE, HL or HM. I haven’t a clue about understanding these modes, so any help or advice would be most welcome.


    Thanks
     
  2. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,864
    Have a look at this sticky thread first - which may provide some useful general background.
     
  3. kbugsy

    kbugsy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you Gavtech very informative - something strange happening with the machine at the moment, nearly every time I turn it on it asks to update the channel list. So unless Freeview are changing there stations every day something is not right.

    Anyone out there with this recorder having the same problem?
     
  4. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,864
    This is caused by the machine picking up channels from more than one transmitter - which fools it into thinking there are new channels available when they are just duplicates of the channels you already have.

    To stop the message appearing, goto Functions / Setup / Display / New Channel Message and change the setting from 'Automatic' to 'OFF'
     
  5. kbugsy

    kbugsy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you once again Gavtech, that's fixed it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice