Help with 'old' Yamaha DSP-AX757SE

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Black Stump, Feb 10, 2009.

Tags:
  1. Black Stump

    Black Stump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Anyone still using one of these?
    Dragged mine out of the loft, never used it when i bought it, what 4-5 years ago.
    Anyway, new BD player arrived - Panasonic BD55, new T.V stand also arrived - T.V, Sky HD and speakers to come before end of the month.
    T.V - Samsung LE40-A786R2
    Speakers - Q Acoustics 1010i

    What do i need to connect all of this?
    I was thinking :
    HDMI from Sky to T.V
    HDMI from BD to T.V
    3 pairs of phono plugs from BD to Amp
    Q.E.D micro from Amp to speakers.
    However, how do I, is it possible to get 5.1 sound from Sky?

    Also, any tips on settings ect for any of my gear listed above?
    Any helpful replies most welcome.
     
  2. sp_harris

    sp_harris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +60
    When you get Sky HD use an optical cable from Sky to amp, then change the sound output setting in Sky menus.
     
  3. Black Stump

    Black Stump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks sp harris.
    Any help on settings for 2.1 for music and 5.1 for Blu-ray/Sky ect?
    Forgot about lead from Sky to Amp. D'Oh!
    If i connect the way I have described, can I still listen to TV/Sky without Amp being turned on?
    I.E using TV's speakers, thinking of watching Sky when i come in/get home from work in the wee hours?
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  4. Black Stump

    Black Stump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Bump
     
  5. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,783
    You should get sound from tv via the hdmi connection from the sky box. so no need to switch the amp on. :smashin: I have this amp in the attic spare bed/cinema room. great amp. Out of interest why not connect the BD player via optical out to one of the other optical inputs in the amp?
     
  6. Jamie

    Jamie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,320
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +1,380
    Because that BD player will decode the HD sound formats and output on the analogues. I'd connect both though so I could see if there was a difference.
     
  7. pixelpidgeon

    pixelpidgeon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,783
    ahh right. thanks. Im not clued up on hd-audio as i dont own any amps with hdmi video/audio inputs. So your amp is able to deliver the same hd-audio via analogue as an amp with hdmi audio input would because the BD player is doing the audio preocessing to analogue.

     
  8. Black Stump

    Black Stump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Will do thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...