Question Help with new home automation set up using Alexa and Dots

Injury20

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I've not been on here for a long time, looking for some advice on home automation from some of you wonderful experts out there. (Yes I am a noob so limited technical speak :)) sorry about the length of this post but I’ve tried to include as much info as possible to get the best advice.

I want to use amazon echo alexa (seen it in operation at sisters over xmas and I’m hooked) but not sure which way to turn first. I’ve been reading through endless forums and threads, so thought it easier to list my current equipment and setup (pics) and what I want automation to do for me.

Firstly as money is limited, ideally I’m looking for a solution which I can add to as and when spare funds are available something like Samsung smart things, starting with music, tv control and lighting and then adding extras like security and automatic curtain closures. Would the solution also be able to set timers etc for when I’m not in/holidays? I already have a hive for my heating.

1. I would like to be able to control everything around the house and thought the echo dots looked a good solution??

2. I’m looking to be able to control my lights though out the house with alexa, I have been looking at smart switches on amazon but I don’t have neutral feeds so those are out, are there any other alternatives which may do the trick which don’t require neutral feeds?? I was looking at these sonoff switches https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B075D8R...liid=I3DJ8TYGSKIDZB&colid=27XLDGS0ZRJEW&psc=0 (hope that link worked)but don’t like the idea of them being cloud based and reports of them going offline when sonoff servers are down, is there anything similar which I can create my own network for, I’m happy to invest in my own hub if it’s the best option. Also the type of lighting I have won’t accommodate wifi bulbs either.