HELP with LG HT752TH home kit :(

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by ZzKatsuyazZ, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. ZzKatsuyazZ

    ZzKatsuyazZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, I'm a newbie here, just bought the LG HT752TH home kit today in Currys.

    Everything is ok until i found out the rear speakers didnt work while i was playing music?

    can any expert here explains this to me :lease::lease:

    and there are 2 more things i want to know aswell, Can i connect my pc to the TV to use the HT752TH speakers? if yes how? and can this DVD player plays HD DVD?

    Thanks:thumbsup:
     
  2. Chilly Willy

    Chilly Willy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +75
    hi mate

    To answer your first question - there is no problem with your rear speakers. I have a different LG system and its the same for me. There is a solution and I will try and let you know asap.

    About your second question - you need to link the sound from the pc into your home kit and not your tv.

    And lastly this LG system is not a HD system all it will do is upscale SD (normal) DVDs to 1080i.

    Hope this helps.

    Will
     
  3. ZzKatsuyazZ

    ZzKatsuyazZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    :thumbsup: This explained everything to me
    Thanks very much for the help but i'm annoyed now that i cant get all the speakers work while playing music =(.
     
  4. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    Its because the source is only stereo, ie left and right channels, you have to press something on the remote ( dont know which button on the LG) which changes the sound effects to output to the rears
     
  5. Chilly Willy

    Chilly Willy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +75
    Now you can :smashin:

    Insert a CD, and on your remote press the XTS Pro button until XTS ON is showing on the display panel of your system. Play the disc and you should have music coming out of the front and rear speakers.


    Will

    PS You will have to do this every time you change a CD :thumbsdow
     
  6. cbrennan

    cbrennan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Your information is very useful.

    I have got the Surround Sound to work with a DVD playing, however can I get Surround Sound to work when I am just watching TV, or can I ?

    Look forward to your reply.

    Cbrennan:)
     
  7. Chilly Willy

    Chilly Willy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +75
    Hi mate,

    Please let me know how you have connected your tv to your system or what connections both the tv & system have and I will try to help.

    Will
     
  8. cbrennan

    cbrennan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    The LG system is connected to TV via Scart lead.

    C
     
  9. Chilly Willy

    Chilly Willy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +75
    Has your tv got either:

    Optical Audio out OR Phono out (red & white connections)

    Connection using either of these two methods will result in sound comes from LG speakers.
    Hope this helps.
     
  10. alexted

    alexted
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey

    I was wondering if you can connect the xbox up to the speakers to get sound from the xbox on surround sound?

    Help would be appreciated

    Alexted
     
  11. mcgerty

    mcgerty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all, i have also recently bought the LG HT752TH 5.1 surround system, i have normal sky tv, an Xbox 360 and would like both to come throught the surround sound system, could someone please help me on how i could connect both to the system, or have i bought the wrong thing, your help is much needed and appriciated, i thank you in advance

    CHEERS BIGMAN ( or bigwoman:D:D )
     
  12. Chilly Willy

    Chilly Willy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +75
    Okay what you need is this Digital Audio cable:

    http://www.kenable.co.uk/index.php/cPath/23_48_63?osCsid=78b3d3517d692b6cf6243928c10bd975

    This will allow you to connect your Xbox 360 (check your original cable to find the Digital Audio output, the connection that plugs into your Xbox) to your surround system.

    Hope this helps

    Will :smashin:
     
  13. Chilly Willy

    Chilly Willy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +75
    I have sent you a PM, hope it helps.

    Will :smashin:
     
  14. WozzaTT

    WozzaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi - complete newbie here I'm afraid!

    This bit of kit looks good for £200.00 but I see the LG HT902TB is now available for £270.00. Can anyone tell me if it's worth the extra £70.00 please?

    For info - I have a Panasonic Vierra 42" plasma used with a Sky+ box and will use the surround sound for some DVDs and maybe also the radio. I note the HT752TH does not have a tuner so I guess I could use the radio through the Sky+ box?

    TIA
     
  15. Chilly Willy

    Chilly Willy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +75
    Hi mate,

    There are two differences that I know about between both systems:

    LG HT902TB
    has am/fm radio
    has 300watt more audio power (1000watt vs 700watt)

    I have the HT902TB system and I think that it is fantastic. I am surprised at the price you quoted for this system as it cost me £235 about five weeks ago. :confused:
     
  16. WozzaTT

    WozzaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +30
    Cheers Chilly!

    Yep - pretty sure I'll go for the HT902TB system too. I was quoting the What Hi-Fi price but have seen it for £230 at Laskys or £250 at Richer Sounds. Problem with Laskys for me is that I'm at work all week so having anything delivered is a bit of a bugger.

    Quick question if I may? Would my Sky+ box and/or PS2 just plug into the back of the LG system? Then a SCART output from the LG box to the TV?Haven't got a clue what I'm doing as you can probably tell! :confused:
     
  17. Chilly Willy

    Chilly Willy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +75
    Hi WozzaTT,

    Okay for sound what you need is a Digital Audio switch box like this:

    http://www.kenable.co.uk/product_inf...243928c10bd975

    and cables:

    http://www.kenable.co.uk/index.php/c...243928c10bd975

    this will allow you to connect your TV (if it has an optical audio output) and your Sky + box to the LG system.

    I do not know if your PS2 has a Digital Audio output. If not then you may need a Phono lead (Red and White connectors) - see hear:

    http://www.kenable.co.uk/index.php/c...243928c10bd975

    which may help you.

    For video – if your TV has only one HDMI input, you will need something like this:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/HDMI-Tri-Link-Switcher-PS3/dp/B000NJZRSI/ref=pd_ecc_rvi_1

    and cables:

    http://www.kenable.co.uk/index.php/cPath/23_110?osCsid=78b3d3517d692b6cf6243928c10bd975

    this would allow connection to the TV for both Sky + and LG system.


    Hope this helps :thumbsup:

    Will
     
  18. mcfaz

    mcfaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    glenrothes ,fife
    Ratings:
    +0
    :confused:
    what cable is the best 1 2 get,i seriously need 2 get this 360 up and running with the surround sound :thumbsdow:thumbsdow:(:(
     
  19. Chilly Willy

    Chilly Willy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +75
    Hi mate,

    You need this cable. Which will connect into the XBox 360 cable (not the box).
     
  20. mcfaz

    mcfaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    glenrothes ,fife
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsup: much appreciated... last question does this work on the elite? and if so where does it plug in2 lol.
     

Share This Page

Loading...