Help with int' Amp choice please

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by sparky1, Nov 29, 2010.

1. sparky1

sparky1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +34
    Hi All
    in the market for an integrated Amp,
    ive recently had some awful luck :rolleyes:
    my monobloks are dead and buried now, so purchased a CA 840A v2 and after a dreadful experience with the store ive been offered a full refund so..
    £600 on another amp

The CA, altho like it didnt excite me at all, it is very nice but i dont know it just doesnt hit the spot with me, leaves me with a feeling of after about 30mins i move onto something else to do instead, its like background music,
    bit hard to explain really as im no expert on this type of thing but when my Musical Fidelity was on it had me stuck to the chair not wanting to move:)

So where do i go from here chaps im at a loss,some ive been looking at are

Creek evo 2
    Roksan kandy II
    Rega
    Arcam
    or
    Back to Musical Fidelity ?

Any help would be great

Mark

2. Mr Pig

Mr Pig

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +255
    Why didn't you just get your old amp fixed?

3. sparky1

sparky1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +34
    ha yes Mr Pig i know ive been over this many times myself since :( , it was time they where updated but like a tit i didnt demo any others and went on reviews.
    Ive since changed IC's and its sounding better, but not the current flow of the MF's so the CA has to be cranked right up to get the best out of it imo where as the MF's had brilliant low volume detail/imaging because of the class A i suppose

Mark

4. Mr Pig

Mr Pig

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +255
    Ok. Just buy another set of the same MF amps then? That's what I'd do. I have Meridian 105 monoblocks and if they got stolen I'd buy another set and have Meridian service them.