Dismiss Notice
We're migrating the forum software to the next major version and this will require the site to be down for the best part of Monday 16th.
More details here. Apologies for the inconvenience.

Help with getting 720p @ 59.94hz

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Pulsar, Nov 3, 2005.

  1. Pulsar

    Pulsar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,199
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands - Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +361
    Hello guys.

    I could do with some help getting my Nvidia 7800 GT running at 1280x720 @ 59.94hz. I have got a licenced copy of Powerstrip to help me, but I have been unsuccessful so far. Can you help me please?

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  2. Dan L

    Dan L
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wotton-under-Edge
    Ratings:
    +110
    Unsuccessful how? Does your panel support this screen res/refresh?
     
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +28
    I'd have thought that resolution/refresh would be a standard one if PStrip's list of presets .. I take it you're trying to feed it into the Z3, using DVI?

    In fact, I'd have thought the NVidia control panel should now support that video format given its' custom resolution support and therefore not even need PStrip.

    More info as to what is or is not happening please. :)
     
  4. Pulsar

    Pulsar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,199
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands - Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +361
    Hi guys,

    Sorry for being vague. I am feeding the Z3 via DVI/HDMI from the HTPC.

    The problem is that I can't get an exact 59.940 refresh rate. When I try setting it in the Nvidia control panel it always changes back to something like 60.013. A similar thing is happening with powerstrip. I had no problems like this with my old Radeon card, so maybe it is something to do with the Geforce?

    Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +28
    Okay, I don't have experience of fine-tuning an NVidia, certainly sounds like the control panel is fighting PStrip, I've heard about this sort of problem in the past but never seen it since I use an ATI in my HTPC as you used to do.

    Unless there's some option in the NVidia CP which tells it not to do this then I'm afraid I don't recall hearing of a solution .. unless you want to try Reclock though of course that may have to work too hard to correct the clock and go into its' frame doubling/dropping routine. :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...