Help with first hi-fi setup (Onkyo TX-2870)

jmb999

Total newbie here hoping to get some advice here on my first hi-fi setup, which includes two Micca MB42X bookshelf speakers, a single Micca MB42X-C center channel speaker, and the Onkyo TX-8270.
All the speakers are advertised as operating between 4-8 Ohms, and the receiver has a pair of A & B speaker inputs (one Left & one Right for A, one Left & one Right for B), as well as a separate input for a subwoofer.
My questions are the following:
  1. My L & R bookshelf speakers are currently connected as the Speaker A system. But I'm not clear on whether my setup will support the single center channel speaker, or how I would connect it. I don't think the MB42X-C is technically classified as a subwoofer. Does this mean I would need to run this speaker as either a Left or Right channel using the B input?
  2. The Onkyo manual states:
If any of the connected speakers have an impedance of 4 ≠ or more to less than 6 ≠, or when a Speaker B system is to be used, after completing Initial Setup, you need to make some settings in the Setup menu.

and then instructs me to set the speaker impedance to 4 ohms during the receiver setup. Since the impedance of my speakers is listed as variable between 4 and 8 ohms (and I don't currently have any speakers plugged into the Speaker B system, at least until I figure out what to do with my center channel), do I need to set the speaker configuration on the receiver to 4 ohms?
Any help is appreciated. Thanks all!

gibbsy

Welcome to the Forum.

The Onkyo 8270 is a stereo receiver. There is no way to connect a centre speaker and the amp does not have the ability to output anything other than stereo. You could connect the speakers to position A only.

jmb999

Welcome to the Forum.

The Onkyo 8270 is a stereo receiver. There is no way to connect a centre speaker and the amp does not have the ability to output anything other than stereo. You could connect the speakers to position A only.