1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with DTS on Yamaha DSP-AX750SE

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by shortone, May 27, 2005.

Tags:
  1. shortone

    shortone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nuneaton, Warks
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have no brain, this must be said.

    I have the following

    Yamaha DSP AX750SE
    Pioneer 575A
    AE speakers but no sub.

    Problem,

    Playing DTS dvds but not getting DTS always getting DD on the amp.

    Connections

    DVD to AMP via componets and coaxial
    AMP to TV via componets.

    Checked settings on DVD and they look fine.
    from what I can gather the AMP is already set to acecpt DTS from coaxial on DVD input.

    Checked options on DVD for sound selection.

    Please help before I kick something.

    Picture of current set up due to rented house and not being allowed to place cables in the walls.

    Regards

    Andy
     
  2. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    You say you checked dvd options, do you mean the menus on the disc or the dvd player setup? check the languages on the dvd disc's menu's, there should be dolby digital and dts (on dts discs) as all dts discs default to the DD standard (they contain both DTS and DD tracks).

    Failing this check the dvd player's display and check it says DTS and not DD, if the amp still says DD (when dvd player says DTS) then something is very wrong!
     
  3. shortone

    shortone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nuneaton, Warks
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have checked the DVD player and the menus on the disk but have no tried the languages menu. The DVD player is showing the Dolby sign with a D next to it which I take it is Dolby Digital. Just got to work so will try this tonight. Thank you for your responce.

    Regards

    Andy
     
  4. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    Make sure you have the digital output on the player set to bitstream.
     
  5. shortone

    shortone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nuneaton, Warks
    Ratings:
    +2
    A big thank you as all is well again.

    As this is the my first venture in to home entertainment I am clue less, but with the help from this forum I am getting better.

    I was unaware of the DTS option being in the language menu. I thought this was purely for forigen langauges.

    Kind Regards

    Andy
     

Share This Page

Loading...