Quantcast

Help with Bi Wiring please

Jason W

Novice Member
Hi, i'm about to setup a Pioneer SXN30AE and a pair of Q Acoustics 3050

The speakers can be bi-wired which i have never done before, just want to make sure my intended way of wiring them is correct

I've drawn a simple diagram using only the right speaker, using green as the negative cable

Is this a correct way of bi-wiring?

I know the speakers are 6 ohms, but confused if the resistance changes when bi-wiring, and not 100% sure what this means either, can someone explain?

Diagram

noiseboy72

Distinguished Member
Your diagram is correct, but bi-wiring is of no benefit. You amplifier only has 2 channels of amplification, so all you are doing is doubling up the thickness of the wire. If you are using at least 1.5mm cable, it is more than thick enough and bi-wiring will show no difference.

Bi-amping is a different prospect. Here you use additional amplifier channels to separate the drivers. Impedance doesn't change very much whether you bi-wire or bi-amp.

gibbsy

Save your wire. Bi-wiring is of no real value and some speaker manufacturer just add the second pair of binding posts as a fashion item rather than being of any benefit.

dante01

Distinguished Member
Bi-wiring is no different to using thicker wire and the thickness of wire you need is determined by the length required. There's basically no benefit to bi-wiring speakers.

You may find this article of interest:

Conclusion