Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Help with Barco 701S faulty rgb input

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by aerobic247, Jul 23, 2005.

  1. aerobic247

    aerobic247
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Kilbride/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +13
    I am in need of some technical assistance the svideo,component and composite inputs
    on by Barco are fine but the RGB is giving me problems.
    When i first switch on my projector every thing seems ok but after a few minuets the picture starts to scroll slowly at first once every couple of minuets but then gets more frequent un till the screen goes blank except for the message "warning input no longer available".
    Any help is much appreciated. :lease:


    I get the strangest felling i will be buying more parts from Roland Brooks.
     
  2. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    This sounds more like a problem with the sync signal than the input board.
    The Input board and decoder converts all the video C S-Vid and Component to RGB.
    This might be worth a try. Try taking the composite video lead or better still the Y (green) lead of your component source and feed that into the green of the RGB and setect input 3 (RGB) ignore the picture colour for the moment this will use most of the same sync paths as for your RGB source. See if the picture remains stable.

    Has this projector got or ever had the Barco internal line doubler fitted. A modification was required to the input board to make it work?
     
  3. aerobic247

    aerobic247
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Kilbride/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi roland thanks for your reply
    I took the composite video lead from my cable box and feed that into the green of the RGB and setected input 3.
    I got stable picture.
     
  4. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    I would look at the sync strength coming from your RGB source.
    The barco will be looking for signal of about 1 volt most players produce far less than this.

    How are you getting the RGB source, from a scart socket?
    Are you using any form of Sync amp or just the composite video as the sync?
     
  5. aerobic247

    aerobic247
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Kilbride/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +13
    I am using 2 QED AV19 RGBs scart from a freeview and Telewest box with no sync amp but thay are routed thru a Barco RCVDS 05 in case that is amplifying the sync.
    I am all so using my computer as a DVD player.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice